We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and awesome restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coquina Beach Surf Club

Coquina Beach Surf Club
451 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080-6317
904-471-2434
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Owner is a great guy, staff was very energetic and on their game, food was great, atmosphere is awesome, etc. Would highly recommend it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    44
    27
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Everytime I visit my grandparents I always make sure to go to Barnacle Bills so when owner Chris told us he had opened a new restaurant near the beach we knew we had to try it. The food was, needless to say, AWESOME! I ordered the pork tenderloin which was cooked to a perfect medium and served over delicious asparagus and by my request, garlic mashed potatoes instead of cheese grits. Everything was fantastic! The staff was friendly, the chef is superb and the location is incredibly convenient for those staying in the many nearby hotels. WHY AREN'T YOU THERE NOW?!?!?

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Trying, but bland food, untrained service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Great pictures got us in there after looking up various restaurants. The $50 bottle of wine arrived warm, the waiter explained that it had been flash cooled. When asking for wine recommendations the waiter said he didn't drink wine, so he didn't know. The food looked good, however was lacking in flavor. I had the tuna, which was great tuna, well-cooked rare as ordered, with sauce all over it which had no flavor.

My husband had the chilli relleno (tp) which also lacked flavor. The plates were not cleared, and then we waited a long time for the check to be taken. The waiter was pleasant, however obviously had no training as a waiter. This might be okay in a casual cheap diner, however not in a place that considers itself a little more upmarket.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“totally enjoyable dining experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Although we're somewhat leary of restaurant recommendations from hotel desk clerks, we're glad we took the advice and tried CBSC during a recent stay on St. Aug Beach. Owner Chris greeted us and pointed out that the restaurant now sources locally for organic produce and sustainable seafoods. The menu is varied with something for all tastes. Seared tuna on field greens was fresh and had no sinewy veins in a generous portion. Fresh Mayport shrimp, fried with a light dusting of datil pepper and the grouper special with cheese grits and grilled asparagus were superb! Would definitely recommend,especially during happy hour specials.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Why did it change from Barnacle Bill's??”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

As SA resident's we think the owner made a mistake by changing the name and atmosphere. The food was mediocre but the wait staff was terrible!! Never going back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coquina Beach Surf Club also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to Coquina Beach Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coquina Beach Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.