We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Receptionist - First Expression is Worth a Million!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Club at St Augustine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Club at St Augustine
Save
You added The Beach Club at St Augustine to your Saves list
2 Ocean Trace Rd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel amenities
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rude Receptionist - First Expression is Worth a Million!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

After searching for hours for a hotel to stay, I finally decided to contact The Beach Club at St. Augustine. I asked the resort receptionist if there were any rooms available for a 3 night stay. She replied, "We usually accept 7 day rental only, but I will search for a 3 night stay. She replied, "We can accommodate you for two of the nights." I asked which floor is the room located. She replied, The room number is 1...... I stated the first floor, right. She replies, The room is one the F-I-R-S-T floor - spelling every word slowly. Very Rude!!!! First expression is worth a million dollars. I stated that I will be searching elsewhere. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT MANAGEMENT DO A BETTER JOB TRAINING THEIR EMPLOYEES.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club at St Augustine, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi D B,

We sincerely apologize for our staff member's behavior and assure you that this incident is being looked into further. You are 100% correct, first impressions are everything and we're sad to see that we were unable to provide you with the superior customer service our guests deserve. Please give our office a call at 904-471-2626.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    29
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
75
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

this location was perfect to the beach. the unit was beautiful and contained everything needed. the only issue is to try to stay in a unit as close to the entrance of the beach as possible since the complex is large you may have to do a lot of walking.

Room Tip: this is not a hotel but a condo community
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club at St Augustine, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Pamela P,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were looking for a weekend get away, not wanting to spend $200 a night...found it at the Beach Club resort, paid less than expected and got more than we imagined. Very clean place, nice pool, courteous staff...all around wonderful experience. Can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club at St Augustine, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi shashahing,

We're glad you found us and were able to enjoy a fun and affordable family getaway. Looking forward to your next visit with us! Thank you for taking time to write us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We visited St. Augustine for the first time, and the Beach Club added to our enjoyment. We had a 1 BR unit on the 3rd floor with a beautiful view of the ocean. I enjoyed watching the seagulls and pelicans flying by. Our kids were skeptical about the sofa bed, but soon found it was very comfortable. Updated decor and furnishings, everything we needed in the kitchen, nice pool, and even toys and chairs to take down to the beach. Towels are switched out midweek, and you will need to buy your own paper towels, toilet paper, etc. when the ones that are provided run out. If you like to grill out, they have several nice gas grills. Plenty of parking, and my husband and sons enjoyed visiting the fitness building.

Room Tip: We had room 300, situated on the outer edge of the building. Lovely view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club at St Augustine, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi robink827,

Thank you for taking time to write us a TripAdvisor review and we're glad you enjoyed your vacation with us! Watching the pelicans and seagulls soar by above the pool is so relaxing, we're happy your kids were pleased with our sofa bed! While we do not supply extra paper towels in an effort to be more eco-friendly, our office does provide extra toilet paper if you run out of an initial supply. Simply stop by the front desk during your stay and one of our staff members will assist you. Thank you again for writing us a review and we hope to see you and your family again at the Beach Club soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have a 2 BR unit at the beach club and I love it. The Staff is great, facilities are well maintained. I had a great view of the ocean and overlooking the pool. The inside of the units are always clean with TV in every room, beds a comfortable and clean.
Go to the Monday morning breakfast with the group and get information about St. Augustine and local restaurant deals as well. Many sites to see in the area or you can just lounge at the pool/ hot tub or walk out to the beach..just a few steps away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club at St Augustine, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi Daniel G,

Thank you for the compliments, our two bedroom units are really great. Spacious with a beach view, can't beat it! We appreciate you taking time to write us a review on TripAdvisor and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! See you again soon, we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I just love everything about this resort,my family just experienced the most relaxing time ever!the units were fresh and clean,and the beds were just comfortable oh.. and don't be afraid of the sofabed it has a very thick memory topper! I just hate to say anything negative about this resort but I believe the unit could use some new carpeting ,and a new valance in the living room to match the pretty accent wall.The balcony and pool deck could also use some new furniture.The staff are marvelous Kathy,Rhonda Michelle,Helen, Lauren,Dottie and all the resort staff at the went the extra mile to make this one of my family's best vacation.

Room Tip: Phase II units has a larger bathroom,but the Phase 1 units are still very lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club at St Augustine, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi CS1965,

Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor! We love your beach sunrise photo. All of our units are scheduled to receive brand new carpeting January 2015. In addition, our pool furniture will also be replaced at that time. We hope you visit us again in the future and thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a beautiful vacation property that is well maintained and managed. We enjoyed a wonderful view of the ocean from our balcony. The sunrises were spectacular. I always enjoy a morning walk on the beach, a great way to start the day. The Monday morning breakfast is a great way to get information on what is happening locally that week. They also give door prizes, no obligation. Pool, spa, beach - what could be better. The weather was awesome. Activities abound for everybody, billiards inside or shuffleboard by the dunes. Lots of beach and history. Will be back soon. Check out my reviews of local restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Club at St Augustine, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi Robert_M_31558,

Ahh...morning beach walks, they simply are the best! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our Monday Morning Welcome Breakfast. We love taking time at the beginning of the week to share our knowledge of St. Augustine and meet and greet with our guests. Thank you for taking time to write us a review on TripAdvisor and we hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Club at St Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club at St Augustine

Address: 2 Ocean Trace Rd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury one and two bedroom condominiums with the Atlantic Ocean just steps away! All condominiums offer fully equipped kitchens, 2 or 3 cable televisions, DVD/VCRs, private balcony or porch, central heat and air, private phones and coin operated laundry facilities on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Club At St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Club at St Augustine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.