We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2050 N. Ponce de Leon, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seniors Save Up to 10%
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

There is more than one Hampton Inn in the St. Augustine area. We chose this property for its proxinity to the historic district, though while it is close to, it is not actually within what I consider the historic district. I'm not sure if this Hampton Inn was as nice as the other one I had stayed in (Blue Lagoon near the Miami Airport), but it was fine. It is not a particularly large hotel, and adjoins a Best Western (sharing a driveway on one side of the property). The street in back of the hotel is less busy than the one in front, so you might keep that in mind when requesting a room. The free breakfast was more than a continental breakfast, but the eggs tasted like powdered eggs (one of the staff explained that while they were pre-cooked and frozen, they were not powdered, and that on some days sausages were included in the breakfast instead of the tiny bits of ham in the eggs when we were there). One could easily walk to the merry-go-round that was operating (perhaps for the holidays). We drove to the historic district for exploring and for dinner (hotel receptionist asked what kind of food we were looking for and gave us some recommendations, including OC White's, which we thoroughly enjoyed for seafood). Front desk staff wa friendly. We paid $116 plus tax (AARP rate).

  • Liked — Large and comfortable room; free Internet use (PC in the lobby in addition to wireless access in rooms)
  • Disliked — Price (not bad, just a tad high)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    99
    65
    35
    14
See reviews for
96
138
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

We have stayed at many Hilton properties (Hampton Inns, Hilton Garden Inns, Doubletree Suites, Hiltons, etc...) and they never disappoint. You get comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price.

The room was spacious and nicely furnished.

The pool was small and concrete, very little landscaping, between the road and the parking lot.

There is no restaurant on site, but there was a continental breakfast and coffee in the morning.

It is about a 5 minute drive into the Historic Center (where most restaurants and attractions are). You could not walk into town, you would need a car.

While the hotel was nice, comfortable and clean, the next time I would probably stay closer to the Historic Center, to avoid the need to drive everywhere.

  • Liked — Hampton Inn/Hilton Standards Upheld
  • Disliked — Had to drive everywhere
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fripp Island SC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

I typically choose to stay at Hampton Inns due to their consistency . This one is an exception . Several examples :

Room wasn't available for check in until after 4PM

Having been placed in a smoking room ( no choice ) , I requested a suite for the second night . While the room is large , it is geneally unclean and " tired " . There is no dresser for clothes storage and no work table for computer etc.

Advertised as " Downtown/Historic Distict " . This is a real stretch unless one is a serious walker .

Overall, a disappointing experience !

  • Liked — Not much
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

We stayed in the Suite, the room was huge, it was clean, we have nothing bad to say about the room. However we had no hot water in our room, several rooms on the same floor had the same problem, front desk called whom ever to fix the problem, they said it was repaired but we still had no hot water, after several calls to the front desk we checked out. They never once offered to move us into a different room, they just said "we called the manager" that was it. We won't be staying there again. Other than that the hotel was really nice.

  • Liked — Room size was great
  • Disliked — There was no hot water!!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stayed at this property since we were going to a conference at the Florida School for the Deaf and Blind. It was pretty much the same as all Hamptons...I think they could have done more with the breakfast (even though it was free). I always like their coffee. The parking lot is very small...park more toward the road where the School is instead of using the parking lot. there is more parking down there. I didn't use the pool. The maid servcie was very good. The front desk couldn' t do enough for us and there was even a front desk clerk who signed fluently. For guests who did not rent a car, a shuttle for $20 for the weekend was available to take you back and forth to downtown.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — small rooms and small parking lot
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

My family and I stayed at the Hampton Inn during the New Year's weekend. I was able to book the room at the last minute. We had the King-sized suite which includes a fold out sofa bed. The room was large and clean, although a bit dark. The bathroom was a throwback to the 70's but it was also large and clean. The room was always made up upon our return from sightseeing. One night the maid even made a pig out of the towels - cute! The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The complimentary hot breakfast was a little on the lean side. Every day they served flat mystery eggs with a different side - ham, sausage, or sausage gravy during our stay. Some scrambled eggs and bacon or french toast sticks would have been a better choice. Also, the dining room can get quite crowded in the morning unless you arrive early for breakfast. More tables and chairs would be helpful. They had complimentary coffee throughout the day which was a nice touch. Cookies at 7:00 pm was a good idea, but that is dinner time and we were never around for our kids to enjoy them. Serving them a bit earlier (around 4:00 pm) would have been a better idea. The property was within walking distance of the Red Train which is a great way to see the city. All in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

Overnight stop and one day to visit local sites. Location not very convenient to historic district. Hotel not up to Hampton's usual standards. Tried three rooms before we settled for one. Running toilets, broken air conditioning, musty rooms, sheets with stains, trash not emptied, carpets not clean were the norm.

Rooms are very small and crowded. Desk is useless - no room for chair because of bed location. Dim lighting.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, maintenance
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District

Address: 2050 N. Ponce de Leon, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.