We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort to your Saves list
The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   500 S Legacy Trail, Saint Augustine, FL 32092   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I read the previous reviews and I also stayed at this hotel on Dec. 30. I did not experience the noise that others did but then again I can sleep through most anything. I did notice a large group of Middle Eastern people in the conference areas on the hotel property and apparently they do hold a function every year at this time because last year I had family that stayed at the Comfort Inn on the same exit and large groups of Middle Eastern/Indian people were dressed in festive colors and jewelry and leaving the hotel in droves. They must stay at both hotels as there are only these two hotels at WGV and I did notice last year children running about. All in all my experience here was pleasant, hotel is very modern and clean. Also I noticed their prices for food is not quite as expensive as other hotels for room service, etc. Caddyshack and Augustino's is also located in the same area. Caddyshack is overpriced but nice bar food and atmosphere if that is what you want, Augustino's is reasonably priced, looks fancy and the food is really good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    173
    81
    42
    25
See reviews for
105
207
14
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Hotel was nice enough but they had booked a large group with many unsupervised teens and children who were roaming the halls, elevators, and atrium until after midnight, yelling, slamming doors, and generally being obnoxious. Atrium design of this hotel amplified the noise level. Staff was called 2 of 3 nights and said they would "call security" but no effects noted. One staffer said they book the same group every year between Christmas and New Years, so be forewarned if you consider this hotel, especially if you're interested in sleeping. I know I never will again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the World Golf Village Renaissance between Christmas and New Years with friends from out of state. We were very pleased with the pleasant, happy service there, from the Front Desk ladies, to the waiters in the bar/coffee lounge to the bellmen and maids. We were very pleased with the lovely restaurant, the servers, delicious food, and the great prices. Thank you, Renaissance, for serving delicious food and not charging outrageous prices for it like most hotels do!

The location is an easy drive, about 15-20 minutes, to St. Augustine, which is a delight to visit. Great museums, wonderful pedestrian St. George Street, fabulous fort for all to climb and enjoy, restaurants of all kinds and prices, winery to indulge, etc.

One of our reasons to go here was the World Golf Hall of Fame. All four of us loved this wonderful "hats-off" to the history of golf. We could have spent the entire day here, enjoying the memorabilia, pictures, stories, lockers of all the famous golfers, putting greens, and golf simulator. If you are even slightly interested in GOLF, this is a wonderful place to visit. We all, 3 golfers, 1 not, absolutely loved it! We ran out of time, and if the weather would have been warmer(remember the freezing weather in Floriday that week) we would have play a round or two, either on their mini-golf course, or the real thing.

Back to the hotel....great, very large rooms, with a little bar area with refrigerator, coffee pot, and wet sink. Beds were fabulous, great flat screen TV with ALL the channels, sitting area with sofa and chair with hassock and coffee table. The room had everything that we look for in a hotel room.......also great bath and wonderful towels, and a super shower with instant hot water!

The only downer was the very large group of foreign culture folks who were very obvious throughout the hotel, with meetings and special eating areas, and children running all over the place, totally undisciplined or watched by parents. Hotel staff is caught in the middle, not really able to be forceful with the gangs of boys yelling and running the halls, and yet keeping things friendly with paying customers.

We couldn't have been happier....also the price was very reasonable, and included either the breakfast buffet or off the menu.(A special deal for the season, I think.)

Will go again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

This an atrium style hotel, thus it has the potential to be noisy. Day 1 - deafening noise from a crowd of business revellers in the bar from Wells Fargo bank which went on late. Next morning, no hot water - with an amazed response from the Front Desk who knew full well that there was no hot water. Complained when I arrived back from work later that afternoon. Met with total ambivalence from the FD. Asked for compensation and was offered 1k Marriott points! Finally, settled on 9k. Back to the room at around 5 pm to do computer work. Impossible due to the same din coming from the bar, from the same group.Finally, had to leave to keep my sanity. I left just after 6pm, after explaining, in great detail as to why I was leaving. Was given a bill for the one night. Next day received an email bill for 2 nights. FD manager told me it was because I left after 6. Even after explaining why I had to leave, there was no change from her. Got a call from the hotle GM the next day. Exact same ambivalence from him. No concession that I was a Marriott Platinum member. Called John Q.Hammons main office (owners and management company) to tell my story. Did not get a call back from the GM until after I had called again to let them know that I had no customer service. Was met with the EXACT same ambivalence from the same hotel GM. This man is not very bright and could not see the value in making me whole for the sake of $105. Never again will I set foot in this place and would encourage others not to suffer the same poor level of service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. When we arrived we decided to upgrade to a suite for a charge since we were traveling with a small baby. As we were taking the elevator up to the room the nice bell hop informed us that we had two double beds which is not what we requested. So we went back down and switched rooms to a king size bed. When we got into the room, the sink at the wet bar was clogged and smelled so we called for a maintenance man. He arrived quickly and plunged the drain and agreed that it smelled so he poured something into it and left when we knew it was unclogged. About 5 minutes later it smelled terrible in the room and I noticed that sewage had backed up into the shower due to the plunging of the sink. Needless to say, the entire shower floor was covered in a black sludge and smelled terrible. So, we moved rooms again. The new one was nice, and everything seemed to be working fine. The last morning we were there the phone rang every 15 minutes from 6 AM to 7 AM for a wake up call that we did not order which woke the baby and was NOT fun. All in all, the hotel itself was great and very clean, there were definitely a few things that went wrong for us though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The facility was nice, rooms were fine, had nice balconies, AVEDA products. Hotel looked good and really liked the meeting rooms. However, the service at the hotel was subpar, parden the pun. Staff left the front desk checking people in when there was a line; the restaurant messed up food delivery to our meeting and was rude about it and slow to resolve it; staff seemed generally apathetic; and there was an incorrect charge to my bill. Just one of those wouldn't have been such a big deal, but all together it was very annoying. I wouldn't use this hotel again for business. Would be fine if you were there for the golf activities nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston area
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Took my husband from the northeast to FL for a surprise 50th birthday. Selected this location because of the golf opportunities and very glad we did. Hotel was great, comfortable, clean and great views. We chose to spend time on the courses (King & Bear and Slammer & Squire) rather than take advantage of the hotel options, but they looked nice.
Staff was wonderful - once they knew this was a surprise, they sent a lovely desert plate and personalized note wishing a Happy Birthday! (a great personal touch)
Really enjoyed the brunch buffet - so much to choose from; healthy options and of course - the belgian waffles were great!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort

Address: 500 S Legacy Trail, Saint Augustine, FL 32092
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore everything that downtown St. Augustine has to offer! Renaissance World Golf Village Resort and Convention Center offers a complimentary shuttle for individual guests to and from downtown St. Augustine(based on availability). The 4 Diamond Renaissance World Golf Village Resort offers fresh, well appointed accommodations featuring 37 inch flat-panel televisions, sparkling new bathrooms and furnishings, high-speed wireless Internet access, spacious work areas, wet bars and refrigerators among many modern luxuries. Meet in the largest combination hotel and convention center between Orlando and Atlanta. Within 15 minutes of the resort enjoy 108 holes of championship golf, including the Slammer and Squire, located just steps from your guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance World Golf Village Hotel Saint Augustine
Renaissance Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.