We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason this is a level 4 out of 7 Marriott Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort to your Saves list
The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   500 S Legacy Trail, Saint Augustine, FL 32092   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
371 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“There's a reason this is a level 4 out of 7 Marriott Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I just checked out and am shaking my head. The hotel is a paradox, doing somethings very well and others just poor to average. My family and I stayed for 1 night using a reward certificate. At check in, I asked how much an upgrade was and it was a very reasonable fee, so I took the upgrade to a very nice suite.The front desk clerk also told me that because I was an elite member, the internet in my room would be free. He told me to just accept the $12.95 per day charge and it would be adjusted off. Good communication and customer service skills.

When we went up to the room, we were impressed. It had a large bedroom with 2 double beds and a wrap around patio, along with a separate living area with a sleeper sofa. The bathroom was very large. The room had 2 TV's, a microwave, refrigerator, and a bar with a sink. The room was in excellent condition and was cold when we came in, so that's something the property did well. I like clean and safe.

When we went to dinner that evening at 5:30 pm, I asked the front desk clerk to have housekeeping come up to the room and make up the sleeper sofa because I knew we'd be back late and my kids would be tired. When we came back at 10:30 pm, the kids are staggering into the room after falling asleep and the coffee table has sheets and a blanket. The bed wasn't made up and there weren't any pillows for the sleeper. My wife was livid. If we stayed at a lesser brand, I would have expected it, but this is a Renaissance and a 4 star rated property at that. I called the front desk and Gage apologized and offered to send someone up to make the bed, but we did it ourselves because the kids were so tired, but I let him know this was not the expectation I have from this brand. Again he apologized. About 5 minutes later, the night manager calls to apologize and offers me breakfast the next day at their restaurant. I told her that it wasn't necessary, but I appreciated the offer and thanked her, telling her we would probably take her up on the offer. So this is an area where they dropped the ball and made up for it.

As my wife was getting into bed, she noticed movement on the wall in the bedroom. Ants. About 50 of them. She killed them all and wiped them up, since it was 11 pm and we didn't want to change rooms or have someone come up ans spray bug spray, leaving us to smell the fumes all night. It's Florida and it happens not a big deal.

The next morning we're going to breakfast and I go to the front desk and speak to a desk agent, letting her know about the ants and asking her if there's anything I need to tell the waitress at the restaurant about our comped breakfast. She apologized for the ants and told me to just have the meal charged to my room, noting they would adjust it off when I checked out. We were good with that and went off to breakfast.

The breakfast buffet was expansive, but average. The kids didn't like the eggs. The biscuits and gravy weren't worth the calories, The pastries were on the stale side. Lots of fresh fruit and European style cold cuts. The family enjoyed the omelette station. Service was excellent, however. Breakfast, including tip was just at $80 and i was off to the front desk. At the front desk, I presented my receipt to the front desk I agent I spoke to earlier and she says, hang on, the restaurant manager is in the manager's office talking about this and then she joins them. A couple of minutes later, the manager on duty comes out and tells me they're only giving me a $25 credit for the meal because that's what the night manager promised me AND i should have come to the front desk for a voucher. I told her I came to the front desk and told her what transpired and she rolled her eyes and said the note from the night manager only offered $25. She then took $25 off of my room bill and informed me that I would be charged for the rest of breakfast. I just stood there stunned, turned and went back to my room to get my things.

On my way out, I had words with the manager on duty again. I told her I don't like being called a liar. Her night manager offered something and she should stand by it. I wasn't looking for anything free or remuneration and i would not dispute my bill, ,but she could have handled the situation much better. Very disappointed in customer service received by management and front desk staff.

This is a property with nice rooms, but everything else is average or below. I would not consider it up to the level of excellence associated with a Renaissance and I will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    221
    106
    57
    34
See reviews for
138
261
19
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We've always liked this property and this was probably our best stay. As always, rooms are tops, common areas impressive, great bar, good dinner, friendly and accommodating staff all around. Our quibble last time was the rate but this time we got a favorable rate so the relatively expensive breakfast buffet still made for a reasonable stay. Next time I would skip the breakfast and have it on the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh B, Guest Services Manager at The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us again. I am so pleased that we continue to be your destination of choice and that we are able to exceed your expectations. I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Ashleigh B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

They guys at work (Golfers) heard I was driving to Key West and recommended I stay here as a stopping point. You drive thru a lovely setting away from the highway noise, but it is only minutes from I-95. Boy were they right, wonderful room, I don't think I have ever had that large of a screen TV in a standard room. The staff were more than accommodating, all for a reasonable price. We walked over to Caddy Shack for a fun dinner and enjoyed the karaoke.

Room Tip: Rooms across from the elevators don't have the best view, our balcony overlooked a roof with all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a great stay at the Renaissance. Hotel staff, from the front desk, to restaurant & bar, and housekeeping, were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The only thing I ran into was, as is often the case in hot humid places, I had to wear a jacket in the public areas, because the air conditioning was so chilly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh B, Guest Services Manager at The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us. I am so happy that every ambassador you encountered was friendly and helpful. I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Ashleigh B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Neat hotel in the center of World Golf Village. Great offerings...  breakfast buffet, pool, gym, ping pong.  Hotel staff are very helpful. Had a "Stay & Play" rate that included breakfast, round of golf at King & Bear and Slammer & Squire courses, both of which were in great shape. Also included free entrance to World Golf Hall of Fame which is full of history & info about the game, putting round on 18 real greens, challenge hole, etc.  had a wonderful time and would love to return.

Room Tip: Pool side view is good, but a bit noisier than golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Charged $12.95 a day for wifi in your room. However wifi was free in the lobby. It was raining while we were there. Sitting in the lobby using the free wifi, however it was raining and roof was leaking and they had to lay towels on lobby floor to absorb the water. Needless to say had to give up using wifi. We were on the 8th floor in room 838 bed was not comfortable could actually see the mattress needs to be replace bed is lower on one side.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and professional. The food and service at Villagio was great. The room was nicely appointed and plenty large. Our only complaints are (1) the toilet was the loudest we have ever heard, (2) the pillows were basically worthless (they flattened almost immediately and provided no support), and (3) the in-room coffee was terrible. Fortunately, there is a Starbucks in the lobby, but you have to pay to get a decent cup of coffee. If the purpose of your trip is to see the historic city of St. Augustine, this hotel is a bit inconvenient. But if you come to see the World Golf Hall of Fame, you can't get any closer. The pluses far outweighed the minuses, though, and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
11.5 mi away
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection
Casa Monica, Autograph Collectio...
#19 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
10.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. A...
#3 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
St Augustine Hotel & Suites at World Golf Village
St Augustine Hotel & Suites at W...
#56 of 78 in Saint Augustine
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#18 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
6.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#20 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort

Address: 500 S Legacy Trail, Saint Augustine, FL 32092
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore everything that downtown St. Augustine has to offer! Renaissance World Golf Village Resort and Convention Center offers a complimentary shuttle for individual guests to and from downtown St. Augustine(based on availability). The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort offers fresh, well appointed accommodations featuring 37 inch flat-panel televisions, sparkling new bathrooms and furnishings, high-speed wireless Internet access, spacious work areas, wet bars and refrigerators among many modern luxuries. Meet in the largest combination hotel and convention center between Orlando and Atlanta. Within 15 minutes of the resort enjoy 108 holes of championship golf, including the Slammer and Squire, located just steps from your guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance World Golf Village Hotel Saint Augustine
Renaissance Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.