We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jaybird's Inn to your Saves list
Jaybird's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 North Ponce de Leon Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for the weekend, and it was clean, rooms were spacious, up-to-date and very affordable. One of the best in Historic St. Augustine, and we will certainly return for a future stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I appreciate you taking a few minutes to send us such positive feedback. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    130
    26
    14
    5
See reviews for
117
195
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked a weekend stay at Jaybird's Inn for our anniversary and we were very pleasantly surprised! The hotel has been recently renovated and the rooms were beautiful! We had a king room and it was one of the most comfortable beds I had ever slept on! The floors had no carpet, but in a hotel, I think I prefer not to have carpet. The staff was very welcoming and we had a great time! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
It's very pleasing to read about such a great experience at Jaybird's Inn. The porcelain tile floors replaced the carpet, because it's much cleaner and, in the summer, it's much cooler. The owners kept clean and "green" in mind during our renovation. It's good to know you enjoyed the little extras in our rooms! For future reservations, please feel free to contact us directly. We'd love to have you back!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The place was very nice and clean. We loved the newly remodeled rooms and boutique look. The fitness center was still under construction but it was still quiet. I was happy to find the rooms had a mini-fridge and microwave.

The location is good as well. It's a bit of a walk to the downtown area but they offer free bikes for 4hrs or a small fee for the whole day. Make sure you reserve bikes if you want them, they go fast! We ended up just bringing our own bikes and it was perfect! Biking to downtown was just a few minutes and we never had to pay or find parking!

The staff was friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I'm happy to read such a great review. Our fitness center is ready for our guests to use and we hope to see you again! Please feel free to contact us directly for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

the wifey and i spend the weekend at Jay's Inn. celebrating our 24th anniversary this past weekend, and loved it. its clean, newly remodeled and the rooms are huge... skip the breakfast and go to their restaurant across the street. i will be back :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for giving Jaybird's Inn the opportunity to help make your anniversary memorable. I'm glad to know that customer expectation was met with customer service, ending with customer satisfaction. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations. We'd love to have you back!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night and we were pleasantly surprised. Large room, contemporary decor, NO CARPET, extremely clean and a friendly staff. The only thing that I would complaint about was the "free continental breakfast". I would say to families with children, "do not count on this breakfast". It was mainly bread and a few bakery items, though this is not a turn off for our family, our main concern when we travel is having clean rooms and clean beds; this hotel definitely addresses that. Strategically located, a 2 mile walk to St. Augustine historic area. Do not be deter by the hotel appearance from the outside, give it a chance and you will be surprised.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, and for posting a review based on your experience. Since November, we've added a couple things to our continental breakfast, including a waffle iron, so there's a better variety. I appreciate your emphasis on "no carpet". Replacing carpet with porcelain tile helps maintain a clean, cool living space. Should you ever decide to revisit, please feel free to contact us directly. We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend and I didn't want to leave! The bed and pillows are so comfy! What really amazed me was how CLEAN it was. So spotless! The breakfast... Well it's very limited bagels, English muffin, muffins and cereal along with juices. So don't count on feasting for breakfast. The front office was always nice when approached. The location is perfect! Not in the busy downtown area if you prefer the calmer scenario. There is a 24 hour open CVS across so it's very convenient. The hotel is also affordable. I will defenitly be staying here again the next time I come to St. Augustine :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
It's nice to read such kind comments. We look forward to see you again! Please feel free to contact us directly for your reservation needs.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I would like to give this a better rating.. Old place but nicely fixed up and VERY clean... But we started to hear the trains about 4am and several more after that. Then about 630 the noise from the street! If you are a very sound sleeper this is the place, else avoid.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I'm very sorry to hear your sleep was interrupted by the train and highway noise. We do have soundproof windows and concrete walls, but sometimes a room in the back helps. We'd love to be given another chance. Should you decide to reconsider, please contact me directly for your reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Address: 2700 North Ponce de Leon Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Saint Augustine
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
#7 Best Value Hotel in Saint Augustine
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jaybird's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King: King bed and a sofa that converts to a queen bed.Double Queen: Two queen beds and a lounge chair.Our beautiful, contemporary rooms are designed to be functional and comfortable. You’ll sleep like a baby on our platform bed with a luxurious pillow-top mattress. The large desk with two adjustable chairs lets you both work or play on your laptops or tablets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaybird's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.