We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“club annual event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 San Marco Avenue, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #49 of 75 hotels in Saint Augustine
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    184
    135
    69
    73
See reviews for
192
216
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GAINESVILLE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were a bit skeptical after reading some of the reviews, but were very pleasantly surprised! We had great service by the most friendly staff, the rooms were freshly made over and the bed was very comfy. We plan to come back for the Christmas lights and won't stay anywhere else

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Happy greetings Kim,
We are glad you took a chance with us and ejoyed every moment of your stay. You are the reason we are in this, to make everyone welcome and feel at ease when they just want to get away to relax. Kim, you are always welcome. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Friendliest staff, responded to needs quickly. Comfortable bed, hot water, basic breakfast, and having Old Town Trolley stop are why we came back. We've visited St. Augustine 12 times and so far this has been our best experience for price and location. Minor sugar ant trouble (norm for FL season) in room and lobby, but staff addresses issues immediately.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Point_me_out,
Thank you for pointing out all that you loved about us in your review. Twice you stated that our service team responds quickly to the needs of guests and that is exactly why we do this, to make our guests know that we cater to them. Not only did you love the clean,comfortable rooms, breakfast,, location but seemed surprise that all this luxury was affordable/ economical. Our aim has always been to let our guests enjoy the finer things in life without breaking their accounts or pockets to stay with us. Unfortunately, there was a minor sugar ant problem, for which we are truly sorry, hence it was dealt with immediately as you noted and we assure you that this matter is under control. We love you and you love us. Take care of you and yours until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELAND
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good location and an old Florida feel,we are too spoiled to really appreciate that.
Most attractions within walking dustance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your opinion. Thank you for appreciating what we have to offer in location, history and cleanliness. We have noted the areas that were average/ disappointing, and we are on a mission to correct and improve in each category. Our aim is to make you happy and want to return. Have a very fulfilling day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWRENCEVILLE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Mattress a bit dated, bagels had mold (had to get the ones farther back in bin) but I will be back again ;) Loved the hot tub!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Tik,
The breakfast supply is delivered fresh every week, therefore we were very surprised at this. We sincerely apologise for this isolated incident. Immediate action was taken by removing that batch and notifying the supplier. However, we are glad that this has not daunted you from wanting to return. This suggests that there is more to us. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVE OAK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I entered the lobby, and asked for a completely non smoking room with a good AC system. The staff member handed me a key to inspect the room prior to paying.......the room was immaculate, new carpeting, a nice, clean smell...no hint of cigarette smoke, and the room was very comfortable temp wise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Laurel,
Your opinion counts. We are truly humbled when guests, like you, tell it like it is.That is why we are in this business, to offer everyone the best in service and accommodation. We never settle for mediocrity. Our guests must get more than what they pay for. Genuine hospitality and cleanliness have become our trademark, which we are determined to maintain. The ball is now in your court. Are you going to settle for less? Or come stay with the best? We will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine

Address: 137 San Marco Avenue, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 75 hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.