We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROACH HOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Historic Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Historic Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Historic Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 North Ponce de Leon Blvd., Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Lakeland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“ROACH HOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is disgusting!! We checked in, saw a couple bugs but didn't freak out. We left for the night, got back after midnight to a huge family of roaches! They were all over a water bottle that we left on the microwave and on the sink and counter! We got the heck out of there and will NEVER go back!! STAY AWAY!! The guy at the desk was very appologetic and admitted that they do have problems there because of the Denny's that is on the property (which makes me glad we didn't eat there, too)!! I'm sure there's a decent Days Inn out there, but we weren't offered a voucher for another time at any location. That would have been nice, considering at 1am we were out trying to find a decent place to stay! DO NOT GO THERE!!
For 30 bucks more, go to the Courtyard by I95, 15 min from there!! That place is amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Manager at Days Inn Historic Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. I want to apologize and let you know that we do use Massey commercial pest control service for our property and they treat the hotel on monthly bases and re visit if needed in between too. We also have trained our staff to keep an eye and call the pest control company if needed. As far as Denny's on the property they rent the space from us and they also use Ecolab for pest control on monthly bases.

Thanks,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    71
    109
    87
    98
See reviews for
128
156
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We've stayed in many Days Inns, but this one wasn't up to the usual 'Days Inn' standard. There wasn't a breakfast included, which is unusual for a Days Inn. The carpet was sticky and dirty - we realised just how terrible the carpet was when we were in the shower and saw how much filth was washing off our feet! Worse, we were both bitten by bed bugs during our stay. I believe the rooms need a major renovation.

Good things - very friendly staff on reception, the swimming pool and hotel location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Manager at Days Inn Historic Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We do value your opinion and try our best to address your concern. We do have some improvement plans in near future for our property. We do not provide continental breakfast as we do have Denny's on the property and are not required to serve breakfast.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope to see you again.

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you are trying to save money on a place to stay and still be close to everything, stay here. Not the best place we ever stayed but it was clean and only a few blocks from the Fountain of Youth. Walked to all of the attractions in the historic district. For a no frills place to sleep, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Manager at Days Inn Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review about your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFlorida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Husband and I stayed one short night last weekend for a spur of the moment fishing trip with our small boat. We chose this hotel because they have a large parking area that we could pull truck w/ boat in and it was directly across from our room so we could see it. The young lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and stocked. However, the door situation of Rm115 was a problem that they really need to address and quick. It would not close unless you really slmmed it...and I mean hard. We left out very early in the AM on Sat. to go fish and spent several minutes just trying to get the door to stay closed so we could leave. We really didn't want to be loud and slam it, but that was our only way to get it to work. While inside the room, the door would just open by itself, so the deadbolt was the only option. All in all it was a fine place to lay our heads, and we would return if we had the boat.

Room Tip: Just make sure you check the door knob situation for your room. If you have something larger to par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Manager at Days Inn Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to let us know about your stay with us. We have checked and fixed the door lock to the room you had a problem with as well as had maintenance check all locks to avoid any future problems. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Spent eight days here. It was comfortable, clean and staff was helpful and nice. HOWEVER, internet connection was horrible. Finally quit even trying. Thankfully I didn't need it for business. If I did I would have checked out and gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Manager at Days Inn Historic Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time out to let us know about your stay with our property. We value your comments and it helps us better serve our guests. We will adress your concerns with the internet and hope to see you in future.

Thanks,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Certainly not the best place to stay in St. Augustine. Rooms are old, the door knob on the entrance door was barely holding. Anyone could have kicked his way in. Shower, tub, toilet very dirty and stained. There was no fridge. Hello, people, it's the 21st century. Get a refgregirator for your rooms. The room itself smelled. Floor was certainly not vaccuumed for a long time, or not vaccuumed properly. If you're travelling with your family and kids, find a better safer place, even if it costs you more bucks. On the plus side, the staff at the desk seemed friendly. It is the management which should take a look at their rooms

Room Tip: If you're looking to store cool items, find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Historic Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us when you were in town. As GM at this property, I’m sorry that you were unhappy with the condition of our property. We do work hard to maintain our property and we have addressed your concerns with our staff. We do have Micro/Fridges in 50% of our rooms and they are available if you had requested one. Our hotel prides its self on cleanliness and customer service and your review will allow us an opportunity to improve those areas.
Thank you,
Jane and The Staff at the Days Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clermont, fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have to say it was really nice staying here. The front desk staff(girl) was very nice. She took time to help me understand the area i was in, seeing how it was our frist time there. The location is excellent, great area, close to everything. Will def go back if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Days Inn Historic Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank You very much for taking time to let us know about your stay with us. Your comments help us improve our work at the property. We will pass this to our staff.

Thanks,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Historic Downtown

Address: 1300 North Ponce de Leon Blvd., Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Historic Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Downtown Hotel Saint Augustine
Historic Downtown Days Inn
Days Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Historic Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.