We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Oaks Inn to your Saves list
Southern Oaks Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 North Ponce de Leon Boulevard, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not up to standards but good enough in a pinch. The rooms were recently updated just not 100% and really small with paper thin front wall but all and all not bad. Much better options for a little more in the heart of town though, you just have to book well ahead of time during season.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    90
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
106
141
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prairieville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The title I gave says it all - we read the reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor and said we needed to book here while visiting St. Augustine. So glad we did! The rooms were wonderful - confortable beds - quiet, and newly remodeled. Loved the showers in the rooms - a plus is the shower gel/shampoo dispenser in the shower - if you forgot your own it's there handy to use - great addition to a hotel shower. The rooms come with a mini fridge and microwave and ample storage if you want to unpack. The breakfast was hot and had attendants to serve you buffet style - fresh homemade biscuits, eggs, sausage gravy, grits, and two styles of sausage - plus various yogurt and cereals - great coffee too. The hotel is in a great location - very easy to get to downtown or to the beach. This hotel is a gem and we will stay here in the future when we come back to visit St. Augustine.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, General Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear travelerfun01,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of our property! We are all delighted to know how well you enjoyed your stay. Please give us a call directly for any future reservations!

Regards,

Dylan Cadwalader, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Was very impressed how room was big and clean, shower room was really shining. TV, refrigerator, air cond, coffe machine. Everything is excellent! The BIG minus is breakfast quality-take your own!!!! It's located not far from historical centre. Recommended

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, General Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear 932Natasha,

Thank you for sending us your feedback. We’re glad to know how impressed you were with our property and we appreciate your kind comments. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations!

Regards,

Dylan Cadwalader, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. Upon arriving, we were please at the easy check in, and the overall appearance of the room. Our room was 107, which is located in the covered area near the office and the main road (you can hear all loud music from cars). Everything was fine until 1am, when the group of people partying in the area just outside our room. I listened to it for about an hour and then decided to call the office. We have a 5 month old and the walls are paper thin. The man said he would take care of it, things got quiet after that. The next morning I made sure to let them know that we wanted to be moved. The free breakfast is ok. There is no fresh fruit. Being that I eat on the more healty side, it would have been nice to grab a banana. After checking out of that room we left for the day and was told by the frot desk that our new room would be ready that afternoon and to stop by and grab the new keys. So that afternoon around 5, my husband dropped me off at the office to get the keys, keep in mind that it is in the middle of a thunderstorm. We get our keys and go to our new room with all of our luggage, my 5 month old, my 11 year old....and.... its still occupied and we walked right in!!!! and its still pouring rain. I was FURIOUS. So i went back to the office, told them it was occupied, and now they don't have anything available on the first floor with 2 beds. So now, we have to settle for the second floor. On the first day, we had a cleaning lady offering us extra towels, but on the second day when my son went to get extras because we were soaked from standing in the rain, she questioned him about the room number and why did he need 4. The only apology we got this whole time was from the guy i called at 1 am. Not sure why this property has such great reviews, it is not that great. Walls are paper thin for sure. We wont stay here again.

Room Tip: rooms on the east section are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Nice small cozy place to stay. King bedding, walk in shower, water saving toilets, wood floors. The free breakfast was good! Very close to the Saint Augustine hictorical sites! Right across the street from Red Train tour stop. Friendly people. Will stay there again when we go once more.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, General Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Stephanie B,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. We’re delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return! Please feel free to give us a call directly for your future accommodations. Have a nice day!

Dylan Cadwalader, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seffner, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our stay at Southern Oaks. Nothing fancy but clean & just far enough from the historic district.
It's pet friendly in a very pet friendly city.
The free breakfast was good with a nice selection of hot & cold foods.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, General Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Judy P,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope you’ll return for another visit! Please give us a call for your next reservation.

Regards,

Dylan Cadwalader, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two nights at the Southern Oaks and it was a good experience. Right from checkin, where everyone was super friendly and helpful, through the room (small but clean) and the complimentary breakfast, our visit was very pleasant. Plus the shuttle from the tram service picked us right up at the hotel so we didn't have to search for parking downtown.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabhadmin, General Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Marshallkathy14,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I’m glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope you’ll return for future visits! Have a great day!

Dylan Cadwalader, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Address: 2800 North Ponce de Leon Boulevard, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Oaks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the northern entrance to historic Saint Augustine, Southern Oaks Inn is welcoming guests to the newly renovated and redesigned hotel. Spacious guest rooms offer comfortable queen or king beds and new furnishings. Relax by the pool, enjoy the complimentary full hot breakfast buffet in the spacious dining area, and visit our concierge to discover all there is to see and do in this beautiful city. Restaurants and shopping are close by, and the boarding station for the downtown trolley service is just across the street. The Inn is pet friendly, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Augustine Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Oaks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.