We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but outdated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Historic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Historic to your Saves list
Quality Inn Historic
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 North Ponce de Leon Boulevard, Saint Augustine, FL 32084 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #52 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Cairo, Georgia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but outdated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Quality Inn Historic in St. Augustine while exploring the Florida East Coast Railway. Check-in took way too long because there was only one person working the desk and there were multiple families ahead of me. When it was my turn to check in I asked for a room facing the tracks but was told my room had been assigned and could not be changed because the hotel was booked. At that time a lady behind me said I could have her room as she would not stay in a room that smelled badly. I declined and stayed with the room assigned and glad I did! The room was outdated and showing its age badly but was reasonably clean. Heater worked well and did not make a terrible noise like so many do. My friend and I had no problems with sleep quality in our room. Breakfast was a joke; very little variety and crowded conditions. I settled for cold cereal and orange juice which I took to the room. The orange juice was water with orange food coloring and could not be consumed. To counter a few negatives there was one big positive...the friendliness of the staff. Everyone I encountered during my stay were extremely nice and helpful. Would I recommend this hotel to someone else? Probably not. There have got to be better choices in St. Augustine but the Quality Inn did suffice for a quick stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel face the Florida East Coast Railway which runs about 10-15 train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    59
    51
    47
    65
See reviews for
98
96
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was in St. Augustine from 3/19 - 3/21 for a visit with my daughters to explore the history of St. Augustine. It is hard to find a good hotel that is kid friendly close to the center of town in St Augustine that can accommodate a large group. The Quality Inn Historic is that hotel. From the minute we arrived with our name on the Marque welcoming us, till we left everything was perfect. All staff is friendly and professional from the front desk to the cleaning staff. We had a nice clean, spacious pool side room in the front of the building. The complimentary breakfast was great, including the sweet gentlemen and women who assist by making waffles and spreading joy. I asked for a later check out time, which was granted without hesitation. Highly recommend this hotel for any trip to St. Augustine....Also included in our $107 night stay was a 3 day Red Train Sightseeing train pass and $20.00 in gift cards for Zaxby's Chicken.....love the Choice Hotel Chains, would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: I recommend a room in the front of the building, although the view in the back faces a beautiful mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent two nights in St Augustine at the Quality Inn. The manager, Fred, was the greatest 'host'! He personally made sure that everything was up to expectations, and on the Sunday morning, he was in the breakfast room, actually making the waffles and delivering them to tables, with a cheerful greeting for everyone. That was definitely 'above and beyond', along with the delicious Florida oranges available in the lobby. The hotel itself is a little dated, but scrupulously clean, and well appointed. The location suited us, because we like to walk...and yet, nothing we wanted was too far! As a bonus, the price was right. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

For all of the people that want to stay in st augustine FL and dont want a expensive hotel in the middle of the historic district, this is a very good choice, it is 20 minutes walking from the historic center, the rooms are really clean, and the service is great, if you are lucky you may meet a waiter doing waffles in the morning who is a nice chatter and very friendly gentleman and at the end happens that he is the director of the hotel :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel was clean and simple. It had everything I needed for my weekend in St. Augustine. The staff in the lobby was extremely friendly. It was very close to all of the historic attractions of the town. We will stay here again on out next trip to St Augustine. Great price, great location :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I made last minute reservations for a long weekend in St. Augustine. We checked in & went to our room to drop off our bags, as we wanted to go explore the downtown area. The room smelled musty, there were stains all over the carpet, and the bathroom was filthy and moldy. And to top it all off, there's a lovely envelope sitting on the desk asking for a tip for the cleaning staff. Will never stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Historic, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry for failing to meet your expectations on your recent stay at our hotel. I would be happy to report renovating is a constant work in progress in the historic district. We do try as a team to maintain all the rooms and we are currently replacing all the carpeting in every room which will be completed in the next few months. I hope you will give us another chance on your next visit and would love if you would contact me direct on your next stay. 904.824.5554

Marielena Scibelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is quite exceptional compared to other hotels in the price range. Clean rooms, great staff, awesome breakfast and the management has a good pulse on the needs of the customer. An overall wonderful hotel. The only complaint I could see one having would be the train that passes at the rear of the building although customers are made aware of this before there purchase.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Historic

Address: 1111 North Ponce de Leon Boulevard, Saint Augustine, FL 32084 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Historic 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Historic Hotel Saint Augustine
Quality Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.