We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, lovely property, wedding factory, smokers accommodated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Monica, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Monica, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Cordova Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Ringoes, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location, lovely property, wedding factory, smokers accommodated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

You can't beat the location, or the charm. The restaurant was nice for dinner, expensive with poor service for breakfast; we sought outside spots for breakfast. Like so many places in Florida, ashtrays are placed in all outdoor areas, tables, pool, etc., encouraging the tobacco-addicted to light up. There were three or more weddings the weekend we were there and they tended to dominate the lobby, bar, etc. The city during the holidays was beautifully decorated and worth a trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    287
    115
    42
    31
See reviews for
223
492
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Arrived at the Casa Monica which is without doubt a beautiful building in a great location.

First of all you must pay per day for valet parking which I guess it quite a normal thing but it does detract from the fact that you are having to pay a high amount for someone just to park your car for you. Maybe it is a British thing but I would much rather just park it myself and not pay the fee.

Available parking roundabout incredibly sparse so if you have a car you pretty much have to use the parking the hotel offers - a good money making scheme by the hotel I guess.

Check in was great, the lobby very pretty and we were in our room quickly. Hotel room was nice enough,everything clean and very spacious. A nice bathroom but no bath which was slightly disappointing but a huge shower which was good. TV was huge and of much better quality than a lot of hotel room televisions I have found before.

Bed was huge but didn't feel I slept all that well in it.. Not as comfy as I had hoped. And as I have noticed in other reviews and the same in ours that there was only one switch up beside the door to turn the lights off with.

Staff were attentive and our requests were carried out quickly without any fuss.

As we went to explore St Augustine the next day we asked where was good to go for breakfast as we didn't really fancy paying the hotel prices. We were recommended a Greek cafe/restaurant which was slightly strange and completely empty and it left me confused as to why we had been recommended there.

Overall it was a relatively ok stay with a nice room but I don't think I would be rushing back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KesslerCorporate, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. While we do appreciate that the majority of your comments were favorable, we apologize that there were several areas that did not fully meet your expectations. We will use your constructive feedback to see where we might make corrections to enhance the experience in the future. We do hope that you will consider us again should your travels bring you back to St. Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Casa Monica, associated with the Marriott group, in mid January 2014. The room was nice with a large bath and all the amenities you would want except a refrigerator. It is right across the street from Flegler College and City Hall where you should stop in and see the museum. It is also 5 minutes to old town St. Augustine. Parking in this area is hard to find which is the only reason the $24 valet parking nightly doesn't seem like total extortion. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel is quiet. The in-house restaurant is very good and the waiters well informed. Plan on a minimum of $50 each with drinks for dinner. Breakfast is very expensive so go to "Mary's Place" next to the Best Western for way too large portions of good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

When they renovated, it would have been a good investment to spend money on soundproofing. We could hear the mother scolding her fussy child 7am and the couple arguing at 2 am. Neither were good ways to be woken up. Other than that, we had pleasant stay. Great location but bring earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This one night only, but we all loved it. We are family of 5, 2 adults + 3 children. We had 2 queens and a sofa queen bed. It was a suite, so there was sufficient space. The hotel is beautiful, right in the center of the old city. There is a great restaurant at the hotel and a bar. Walking distance to many restaurants close by and a very nice view.
I would come again if in town, definitely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I had such high hopes for this hotel. Everyone was just raving about it!
The room is very spacious. However the TV is to the side, so you have to turn your head to watch TV all night.
We are here right now! We just discovered, that there is no way to turn the bed lamps off at all, unless you go to the my main light switch and turn them both off. Bummer!
The service is nice the people are very eager to please in every area of the hotel. In the bathroom, there aren't any hooks except the one on the back of the door. There is no place to hang your towel, there is no place to hang your stuff, the counter near the sink is too small! They put a notice in the bathroom to tell you that they want to be "green" and try to use the towels more than once
but then you easily discover that there is no place to hang your towel so that you can use it again tomorrow. For a somewhat expensive hotel this is not well
appointed. The location is superb, there is a park across the street, and many cute stores all around! When all is said and done, I would never stay here again!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The only thing better than visiting St. Augustine is being able to stay at a great hotel in the heart of the historic district. Casa Monica has a great staff always ready to assist you with any local recommendations. Close to everything both main trolley tours stop within feet of the hotel. The best part is with a Starbucks located inside of the hotel you can start the day out all revved up to go. Kids love this hotel and it is also pet friendly. You cannot go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to pay extra to get a deluxe room with a view it is well worth it. The standard rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Monica, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Monica, Autograph Collection

Address: 95 Cordova Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
#13 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Monica, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Casa Monica, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa Monica Saint Augustine
Casa Monica St Augustine
Hotel Casa Monica
Casa Monica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.