We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Monica, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Monica, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Cordova Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in December. We visited St. Augustine to see the lights. The hotel was gorgeous, staff was great. We dined at 95 Cordova and it was exquisite! The location was great, the view of the courtyard and the lights was phenomenal! The only problem we encountered was minor, we requested a bottle of champagne, and it was forgotten about, but not a deal breaker.
I just have to add one more thing- I keep seeing reviews complaining about TVs . Not just this hotel, but many others. Why on earth would you be that concerned about the tv when you are traveling for pleasure? If a television is that vital to you, maybe you should stay home and watch television there! Not trying to be rude, but it is wrong to give a hotel a bad review because of the size or style of the television

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. I am happy to say, even though it did not impact your opinion, that all the old style telelvisions have now been replaced with updated flat panel units. And I agree, while in St. Augustine, why spend any time watching television!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    338
    139
    48
    35
See reviews for
259
578
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for a work conference. We pulled up to the valet. The valet greeted us warmly. Parking is $17/day plus tax. The valet area was clean and there was even an old-timey car in the area that really set the tone.

We walked into the lobby and we were immediately transpoted to old Spain. There was beautifully carved dark furniture everywhere. Dark reds, mosaics, bronze and the lobby smelled amazing.

We proceeded to check-in. The process was fairly quick. The front desk person seemed rushed and wasn't overly friendly, but I got my room keys and set off to find my room.

The elevators were small, but fast. I got to the fourth floor and found my room. The hallways and lobby areas were all clean.

I found my room. It was fairly small, but this is a historic hotel. That said, it really stands out compared to other old hotels. He room was modernized with updated drywall, light fixtures, and a coffee machine.

The only negative in the room was the TV. It was a big box TV and the quality wasn't very good - but who goes to St. Augustine to watch TV anyway?

The bed had a huge red tufted velvet headboard. The room had tons of dark wood furniture. The king sized bed was comfortable and cozy. The sheets were soft and clean.

The bathroom was very clean and spacious. The bathroom counter had plenty of space for all of your toiletries and then some!

We so used the Flagler Ballroom for our work meetings. I would love to come back and host a party there. The location is gorgeous. There are beautiful paintings, dark woods, beautiful Moorish light fixtures. Overall, a very beautiful space.

If you're coming to St. Augustine, you have to stay here. This hotel is the true essence of the old city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for such a thorough review. I am sure our trip advisor readers will appreciate the detail of your experience. And, I am very happy to say that your only negative comment about the dated television has been addressed. The very last shipment of our new flat panel televisions arrived and are in all guestrooms. I hope you do come back soon to visit on a leisure trip so you can thoroughly enjoy our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Casa Monica had many different lives. Its latest is back as a hotel. A mid-sized hotel, about five floors. Great location, a little pricey, but what isn't in St. Augustine. Like many upper-level hotels, expect to pay for things like the internet and there is only valet parking, unless you want to take a chance finding a "dream" space on the street. Service is very professional. Good size, well appointed rooms. Pillows could be a little more substantial. Nice Bose radio/CD players in the room. Small lobby bar has nice entertainment on the weekends. Good buffet on Sunday (yes, it costs) and there is a Sunday brunch. Location in town and across the street from Flagler College. If you want a little bit of luxury while on vacation, this is a really nice place to stay. Room on the second floor, so there was a bit of noise on Saturday night, likely due to a wedding reception. There is a small gymnasium, and we were bummed that we didn't bring bathing suits for the lovely pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
A very nice and thorought review. Thank you for sharing with our trip advisor readers. The hotel can be very active with events and functions and a room on a higher floor may be requested if you retire early. Please bring those bathing suits on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We enjoyed a two-night stay in Suite 201 - very nice suite with lots of room and although it overlooks the corner of King and Cordova it was very quiet. A small glitch with the air-conditioning system was addressed in a very timely and effective manner. The lobby bar was a great place to have a drink and unwind. Pat thought that the spinach and artichoke dip had too much spinach and was insufficiently creamy (too dry!), but I quite enjoyed it.

The hotel is well located for exploring the old town. We found that all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Suite 201 is one of my very favorite rooms with a gorgeous view of Flagler College and the plaza with fountains. I will certainly review the dip with our chef and ensure the correct recipe is being followed. I am very glad that your enjoyed Casa Monica and our lovely historic town.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We read a lot of mixed reviews so we were a little worried goin in but we were very impressed. All of the details were covered and top notch. The staff was excellent, and the hotel was beautiful. We had a very romantic weekend thanks to the Casa

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I appreciate that you gave us an opportunity to prove ourselves even though you may have been a bit skeptical. And I'm thrilled that we came through for you. Thank you and please visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have stayed at Casa Monica twice and both times have had exceptional service. The hotel has charm with antiques and beautiful lighting. It is also centrally located. The rooms are large and the bed is very comfortable. The restaurant in the lobby (95 Cordova) is delicious and they have brunch on the weekends that's worth the price! If your looking for a romantic weekend I would highly recommend Casa Monica! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing that St. Augustine and Casa Monica provide the perfect romantic getaway. It is our mission to provide and inspiring atmosphere, intuitive service resulting in exuberant guests.and it appears we succeeded. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Casa Monica and we loved every minute of our stay. The premium room was large, clean, and looked out to a small park in the center of St. Augustine. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel sits right in the middle of the historic area, thus, all the historical sites are within walking distance. This was our first time visiting St. Augustine and we loved the town and the hotel. When we return, we will be staying at the Casa Monica again!

Room Tip: The premium rooms have a small refrigerator (kept very cold which was nice!) but the regular rooms d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I'm so glad you were able to stay for four days and aborb much of St. Augustine. The average visit for a guest is about two days and impossible to see all that our Ancient City has to offer in such a short visit. I appreciate your description of the Premium rooms as they are the most popular because of the additional space, seating, refrigerator, and wet bar. Many thanks on the mention of our staff, it certainly means a lot to us to read the positive comments. Please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa Monica, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Monica, Autograph Collection

Address: 95 Cordova Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Monica, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Monica, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa Monica Saint Augustine
Casa Monica St Augustine
Hotel Casa Monica
Casa Monica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.