We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Monica, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Monica, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Cordova Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending another night at the beautiful Casa Monica Hotel in mid December.

As a crew member for a world wide aviation department I have the opportunity to visit most of the globe. So to find such a delightful hotel with old world charm, modern amenities and a spectacular staff is worth writing about. From check in, dinner, a glass of wine at the bar to check out everything was 5 star. I recommend this hotel to all Flagler College parents at least once during your child's education in Saint Augustine, Florida. I had 2 children attend this college and in 8 years I have tried just about all hotels in the area. And The Casa Monica is the best. Book early, and remember it is associated with Marriott so your points will work!

Room Tip: Rooms facing west and north both overlook parks, smart choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
It is wonderful to read reviews like yours. I am sure in your aviation profession you have spent more nights in hotels than you care to remember and coming from such a seasoned traveler your comments are very meaningful. Flagler College is a wonderful educational choice for your children as well. I do appreciate you taking the time to share with our trip advisor readers. Please visit soon and oftern. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    286
    115
    42
    31
See reviews for
223
491
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in December before the holidays, parked our car, and walked everywhere!
The hotel location is very central to shops, entertainment, restaurants. We were in a spacious room on the 5th floor overlooking the beautiful grounds of the Lightner Museum and catching the sunset at night. The room also had a small bar area with refrigerator which was nice. Because of our Marriott points we got food vouchers, so we enjoyed croissant breakfast sandwiches at the little coffee cafe on the main floor. We have sleep issues and the first night other people were up at 4 a.m. talking very loudly while waiting for the elevator. The second night, the hotel's alarm was acting up, which started in the afternoon, and it went off in the middle of the night. So both nights were not good for a restful sleep :( The king bed however was comfortable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing and I am very happy that you enjoyed your room and the area. Your room location is normally in a very quiet area of the hotel and I am so sorry that your sleep was interrupted by hotel guests and then the alarm. I know your room by your description and it is a favorite. I appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place to stay in St. Augustine, within walking distance to almost everything, including the Castillo. Guest rooms are spacious and comfortable. Pool area is nice with comfortable seating in the shade, which is needed after a day walking around beautiful St. Augustine! Enjoy your stay at this lovely, historic hotel.

Room Tip: Premium rooms very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Creating Exuberant guests is our mission at Casa Monica. I trust we lived up to your expectations. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Ancient City and our hotel. We celebrate our 125th birthday this year and hope you can visit again soon. Thank you so much for sharing with our trip advisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the wknd of our wedding in a 1 bedroom corner suite which was perfect for family gathering and the dining table/chairs, mini-fridge, sink, lounge area, pull-out sleeper sofa, and view of downtown St. Augustine overlooking Flagler College and the Lightner Museum made our stay very enjoyable. With a coffee bar just downstairs and in walking distance of everything, this hotel is the perfect destination for couples and families!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thankk you for your review and more importantly thank you for choosing Casa Monica for your wedding. It is a priviledge to host you on your very special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay. The hotel is very well located across from Flagler College and within walking distance of many of the historic sites. If you are interested in the trolley tour it is convenient for pickup and drop off by the trolley. There is a Starbucks in the hotel which is a nice modern perk. The building has tremendous historical character and the original art work displayed throughout the hotel is beautiful. The staff was pleasant but aloof. We didn't find them very warm and fuzzy but they were not rude. We enjoyed our breakfast at the hotel restaurant which was included in our package and an excellent value. My only complaint would be the lighting in the bathroom and the comfort of the bed. The bathroom has one small overhead light and it is not sufficient at all. As for the bed, all night my husband and I felt like we were sinking into the center. They definitely need to upgrade the beds!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your experience at Casa Monica. The location is perfect as you made mention, a short walk to many of the attractions and restaurants in the historic district. I am sorry that the bed did not meet with your approval. We will certainly check to see if there is an issue with the support as the beds are relatively new. Your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very enjoyable night in this hotel. Check in was quick and was upgraded to a premium room based on Marriott status and given credit vouchers for breakfast. This was unexpected as this property was only recently added to the Marriott group. Hotel is perfectly located for touring the area on foot. Keep in mind this is an older historic building and it will have some quirks and imperfections, but these only add to the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing. Our new Marriott Elite members are very important to us and I am thrilled that you were pleased with your first experience at Casa Monica. I hope you can visit many more times and experience our lovely city of Saint Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The architectural appointments of this place are amazing. you can see a Moraccan influence. You are in the city, but the courtyard pool was an exotic escape from a day of siteseeing, or driving to a nearby beach. St. Augustine and surrounding area is brimming with history and the Casa Monica was a perfect location to take it all in.

Room Tip: Make sure you take a peak at the room before unpacking to make sure you have the size room that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I appreciate your review and glad you enjoyed your visit to Casa Monica. The courtyard pool area is a favorite locaction to relax after a full day of exploring the history of Saint Augustine. Your tip is a very good one. All of our 138 rooms are a bit different and if there are particular features that appeal to you then previewing is ideal. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Monica, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Monica, Autograph Collection

Address: 95 Cordova Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
#13 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Monica, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Casa Monica, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa Monica Saint Augustine
Casa Monica St Augustine
Hotel Casa Monica
Casa Monica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.