We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Monica, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Monica, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Cordova Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Comfy beds, quiet, site seeing within walking distance, or trolley stop right outside. Restaurant is awesome for dinner.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
I am thankful that you took the time to write of your experience. Our beds receive very high reviews (I bought one for my own home) and 95 Cordova restaurant does as well. Glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    289
    115
    42
    31
See reviews for
225
494
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

An absolutely beautiful hotel, with Spanish decor and a feel of elegance. Our journey started here when I suprised my wife for our 10 year annivesary with our stay at this lovely hotel. We had the romantic package with an overnight stay, strawberries & champagne, breakfast included, also with a horse & carriage ride through the city. Overall everthing was wonderful, the only thing lacking was a jacuzzi style garden tub in the room to add to the elegance. The location of the hotel is the best in the city if your there to enjoy downtown history & siteseeing. Everything from the hotel is within walking distance to enjoy all the sites. Also the best thing the hotel offers is, valet parking, and your car stays parked at the hotel so you can enjoy the city, otherwise you pay to park everywhere, and when we were there it would have been frustrating to find a parking space adding to stress before you even start your day. For you coffee lovers, in the lobby is a Starbucks! Breakfast in the morning can be delivered to your room or you can eat in the restaurant, either way it was delicious. The swimming pool is fabulous and has a large sitting and party area. My wife loved her annivesary suprise stay here so much that she is ready to go back every weekend. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone, its a must see and stay hotel....Wow!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
An advertising agency could not have illustrated the Casa Monica, our 95 Cordova Restaurant, and St. Augustine any better. I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience in the ancient city and hope you can return soon. Your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay in St Augustine at Casa Monica. The location cannot be improved upon. Walking distance to everything you would want to see or places to eat and drink.
Our King premium room was well appointed, comfortable and well kept.
Staff were consistently welcoming and friendly.
We did not eat at the hotel, as we were looking for something more casual and lively, which we found around the corner at the A1A brewpub. Later, we enjoyed the piano bar at Rhett's, a few blocks away.
On our way out of town the next morning, we stopped in for a coffee and a bagel at nearby Shmagel's Bagels, which opens at 7am. Also a very good spot, and good value.
Yes, you pay for valet parking and internet, but the room prices in May were relatively inexpensive for a hotel of this category, so I recommend it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit to Casa Monica. Our award winning 95 Cordova is a favorite for the locals and hopefully you will try dining there on your next visit but you certainly did choose some of the favorites in town. Thank you for your very kind comments and especially recognizing our staff service. We look forward to your next trip to St. Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This property is in a good location and has a theatrical veneer of "authenticity" in what is a quite attractive building. However, the level of amenity is no better, and in some areas, worse, that three star chain properties. Amenities such as parking and Internet, are add-ons. The pool is a joke. There is a complete lack of genuine quality in both the service and the fittings and furnishings. Fancy packaging, poor contents. Drinks, breakfast overpriced for average quality and poor service

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you value show over substance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
I do appreciate that you have shared your experience and opinion of Casa Monica and I am personally very sorry that our historic hotel does not meet with your expectations. We make every attempt to communicate the amenities of the hotel and all charges in advance of making reservations by making our website and reservation data as informative as possbile. Thank you for your candid opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is a lovely grand hotel in downtown St. Augustine, Florida. The lobby is decorated in Spanish/Moroccan flavor and very well done. It has been lovingly maintained to reflect the ambience of an earlier time. I love the ceiling detail. The hotel has 2 restaurants. One being a coffee shop. It is simple, good and a perfect foil for your morning coffee and breakfast roll. The more upscale and elaborate dinner restaurant is also very good. The service is prompt. The menu is diverse and exciting. The food is good. I love the glow in the dark menus! We "went for it", and had a massage in our room. The two women they sent were professional, and veterans of the trade. They knew what to do allowing us to relax, not talk and unwind. It was downright decadent. The price was very fair. Our room was also decorated in mediterranean decor. Some rooms are more interesting than others but all in all they are well thought out and clean with large bathrooms. The owner's suite which is a full three floors is huge. Bring your whole family and then some! It is a great 2 day get away location to come home too, when your day of sightseeing, shopping and walking is over.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the larger rooms and suites. They are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
You certainly did take it all in during your most recent visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The suites do provide much more space to unwind and the 3 story Kessler Suite you described, with three bedrooms, full kitchen, and 2.5 bathrooms, is a favorite for families, girls getaways, etc. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Perfectly located in the heart of St. Augustine is only the beginning of the perks of this hotel. The lobby and guest rooms are wonderfully decorated, like a step back into a Moroccan castle. The rooms were well equipped with robes and wonderful bedding. Also like the darkening drapes for a little extra shut eye in the am. Don't miss the pool area....very quiet and well done. Hot tub was a little small and could have used a little cleaning, especially the tiles. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing and for your observations of the many custom furnishings at Casa Monica. Many of them have either been hand selected or in many cases are personal possessions of Richard Kessler and placed when the Casa Monica was renovated after he purchased and reopened this historic gem in 1999. Please visit soon and again enjoy the relaxing pool environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at the Casa Monica. The hotel staff was fantastic and the pool area was perfect. We loved the location and everything about the hotel. Hotel was a little on the high side once you add in parking.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your experience at Casa Monica and thank you so much for recognizing our staff. I know our Grand Performers (what we call our associates) appreciate your kind comments. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Monica, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Monica, Autograph Collection

Address: 95 Cordova Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
#12 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Monica, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Monica, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa Monica Saint Augustine
Casa Monica St Augustine
Hotel Casa Monica
Casa Monica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Monica, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.