We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate place with very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PURPLE OLIVE

PURPLE OLIVE
4255 A1A South, Suite 6, Seaside Plaza, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
9044611250
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 444 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Intimate place with very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Purple Olive was recommended and it did not disappoint. Early bird 5:00 to 6:30 with ample portions and very good specials. Service was attentive and excellent. Knowledgeable staff on the menu. Regular menu quite extensive and had reasonable pricing. Very good choice and we will return soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    89
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food and Low Prices-Great Combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

What a wonderful dinner my husband and I had. When we saw it was a storefront restaurant in a strip mall, we were a bit concerned, needlessly so.
We both got seafood marinara and it was absolutely perfect. Almost as soon as we were seated, we were given warm bread and a great spice combo to mix with the olive oil left in a cruet on the table. We were also served a small bowl of several varieties of wonderful olives-of course! All entrees come with a very nice salad or soup.
I asked to have rice instead of pasta with my entree. Jill, our great waitress, was happy to have the change made.

They have a reduced cost menu if you order by 6:30. Only the cost was reduced-not portion size as some restaurants do.

Purple Olive only serves beer and wine, not cocktails. Except for not being able to get a mixed drink, this was a perfect dinner with enough leftovers for dinner the next day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

It's small and cozy, well appointed, very good service and a place for special occasion, like Valentine's Day. Great sirloin tips.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech Mountain, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Glad we tried this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We ate here for Valentine's Day and it was packed at 5:00. The food was tremendous and very reasonably priced. Even on such a busy night the service was superb. Glad we followed the recommendation and came here. Very good choice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Real Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We came for the Early Bird (5:00-6:00 "I think") I had the shrimp in pasta and it was outstanding. The shrimp were succulent and perfectly done and the garlic wine sauce on the noodles was perfect. This meal had salad and ample bread and the meal was in the $12-13 price range. This is a very good meal for the price. We returned on a Saturday night and unfortunately there was no early bird but we could not pass up eating there. Again, our meals were excellent. Definitely a destination restaurant and take advantage of early bird specials...worth being an 'old folk' and eating early.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PURPLE OLIVE also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to PURPLE OLIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PURPLE OLIVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.