We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PURPLE OLIVE

PURPLE OLIVE
4255 A1A South, Suite 6, Seaside Plaza, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
9044611250
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 484 restaurants in Saint Augustine
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We didnt expect to find such a gem among the plazas of A1A, but its apparent that the chefs here know what they are doing, and they do it well. On par for one of the best, if not most surprisingly good meals we have ever had.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    242
    71
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We celebrated our anniversay weekend with a dinner out to the Purple Olive and were very pleased with both the quality of the food and the service. The entrees we both had (seafood) were excellent as was the wine. Don't let the exterior fool you (it's tucked away in an older strip mall), the place is great, with an original, privately-owned (non-chain) feel and taste. You won't regret it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I ate here on our honeymoon and we loved it! It's in a strip mall but do not be fooled by the outer appearance! The food and service is to die for! Our waiter, Justin, was super informative of the specials, wines, and menu. I got the grilled grouper with Sweet and spicy mustard sauce. I could have drank the sauce. It was so good and the fish was done perfectly. My husband got the espresso rubbed gorgonzola crusted pork loin and he said it was the best meal he has ever had. Next time you're on the island looking for a place to eat check this place out. You will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food, nice ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just had a wonderful meal at Purple Olive. I have been there a few times before and have never been disappointed. I got the sesame tofu with a side of vegetables and it was perfectly prepared. Worth a visit from locals and visitors.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, GA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I ate here last night with two co-workrs, and we were not disappointed. Service was good, and the food was delicious. Between the three of us, we had blackened shrimp, grilled shrimp, mussels, and seared tuna. All courses were good.
e
As notd elsewhere, the restaurant is in a strip center but do not let that fool you. The atmosphere was OK and they did about as well as you can in a strip center. Portions were just right and the prices were most reasonable.

I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PURPLE OLIVE also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to PURPLE OLIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PURPLE OLIVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.