We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tasting Room

The Tasting Room
25 Cuna St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-3603
904-810-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tasting Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 484 restaurants in Saint Augustine
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. George Street
Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Tasty Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is our 4th visit to the Tasting Room and it is still just as delicious as our first. Be sure to make a reservation, then enjoy a leisurly dine through their menu. From the mushrooms with garlic, and sherry to the braised short ribs, you can't go wrong. We did a couple of Tapas and then shared a dinner. Perfection! Explore one of their wine flights, they have them pre selected, you can try all spanish (nice!) or go global or Cali. No matter what they have something for your wine enjoyment. One of our favorite places in St. Sugustine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    338
    121
    48
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food, slow delivery time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went here for dinner on a suggestion from a friend. Luckily we had a reservation and we got in! The atmosphere is great and they had live music (on a Monday night!). It took a while for our server to attend to us, but we understood that it was busy and didn't mind. We ordered tapas - hummus, shrimp and lobster cheese bake, and empanadas. All of the food was stunning! It was just amazing. The hummus was lentil and mushroom served with toasted pita slices and assorted veggies. We are going to have to try to find a recipe - it was delicious. There was about a ten minute lag between the hummus and the cheese bake, which was awkward. It did take a while for our water to be refilled and when I asked for lemons, that also took about ten minutes. The empanadas came out, then the shrimp and lobster. We promptly forgot about the wait time at that point - we were too enthralled by the beauty of the food we were eating! We had the creme brulee for dessert and left very happy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The Tasting Room came highly recommended and did not disappoint. This "tapas" style high end restaurant serves a great meal in a very relaxed and classy atmosphere. No tourist style rush here, even though the restaurant is located it the heart of the St Augustine tourist area. I had the grilled octopus with potatoes, assorted olives and the ceviche. I topped that all off with the chocolate mousse martini. The prices were reasonable given the quality of the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Some of the best tapas I have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We didn't want a huge meal so this was perfect for us. Their entrees looked delicious but we had eaten a substantial lunch. We chose a typical soup and some tapas dishes. , perfect! The lobster shrimp and cheese casserole was so good I could have chewed the chewy bit of toasted cheese around the dish. Queso frito with tomato, again delicious and the Serrano ham etc was fresh and tasty. Excellent bottle of wine, what more could you want. Service attentive and very friendly. An interesting find. Highly recommended .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Group Event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A business group of 30 went there last week for dinner. We ordered off a pre-determined menu given the size of the group. The service was very professional and quick for the size of the group. The wine parings were fun and appropriate to the menu. I had a sea bass and it was first class. The other diners said their entries were very good. With a group as noisy as we were, it was not as pleasant as it could have been but we had a great meal and enjoyed our time there. Definitely one for wine lovers and those who like a more intimate setting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tasting Room also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to The Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tasting Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.