We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the Tour from the Docent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memorial Presbyterian Church

Memorial Presbyterian Church
32 Sevilla St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904 829-6451
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Cleveland, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take the Tour from the Docent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Touring this Church was probably the most beautiful part of my vacation. I found the architecture stunning. The docent was knowledgeable about the church and its history and really impressed me.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    44
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“wonderful buildiing you should see it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We enjoyed the historical atmosphere in this church and the attendant was very friendly and informative. We hopped off the Old Town Trolley to see this church and it was a good choice

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The stained glass and woodwork in this church was beautiful. The architecture was marvelous. The docent answered our questions well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“We came back 3 days in a row to find a day when it was open for tours. It did not disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The interior of this church built by Mr. Flagler in memory of his daughter and granddaughter is beautiful. The outside looks weathered and worn, as a result of the new technique used of poured concrete in the 1880s. The interior is all original; outstanding mahogany pews and original stained glass windows. There are two detailed history rooms on either side of the small chapel sanctuary which detail both the history of the church and the lives of the builder and his family. The mausoleum where Mr. Flagler, his first wife, daughter and granddaughter are interred is a worthy burial place. So glad we persevered to come back the third time. The docent there today was remarkably knowledgeable, and very accommodating of our questions. A true local treasure. One of the few places that doesn't charge a fee; they merely ask for a $1.00 per person donation.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is so beautiful. Stunning artistry when they built it. Amazing Tiffany glass window and great place for photography. Also free!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memorial Presbyterian Church also viewed

 

Been to Memorial Presbyterian Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memorial Presbyterian Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Memorial Presbyterian Church to your Saves list