We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location w/ Good Hospitality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 44 Spanish Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
44 Spanish Street
Save
You added 44 Spanish Street to your Saves list
44 Spanish Street, Saint Augustine, FL   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location w/ Good Hospitality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

My fiancé and I stopped in St. Augustine and stayed at 44 Spanish Street. This B&B is in a wonderful location and within walking distance to many good restaurants and tourist attractions. I choose this B&B because of the price and I really wish I would have paid a bit more for another B&B in the area. I would say the set up of the house is more like an apartment building as there is no living room area or general areas to hang out, which is what I personally enjoy about B&B. I felt a little mislead when we arrived and saw this was not a home we would be staying in.
Linda is a wonderful lady and makes a killer breakfast!!! She was extremely helpful with pointing us in the fun directions. Overall, our stay at the 44 Spanish Street was enjoyable, just not what we were expecting out of a B&B in that price range.

  • Liked — Fantastic Location, Linda is Amazing, Delicious Breakfast
  • Disliked — Apartment feel of property, Steap stairway, Parking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    18
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Was able to get a last minute reservation, which was great, and Linda the Innkeeper was very nice. The B&B is in a GREAT central location, right in the heart of Old St Augustine. This B&B is an old converted apt house, so there was no central meeting room/lving room to lounge or relax in and you have to enter thru a long steep stairwell to get to the upper room (made carrying luggage very interesting!) and our room (Palm South) was VERY tiny and in need of some freshening up. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable and should be replaced. There was a nice balcony outside of our room that all guests can use and a nice breakfast house where Linda graciously served a hot breakfast . I've stayed at many B&B's over the years, from Maine to Florida, and I hate to say it, but this was my least favorite.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Room, bed, lack of indoor lounge or living area
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellbook
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

A great B&B in the historic district. This was a great location to enjoy the town. We stayed in the back room on the 1st floor in the Willow Room. Accomodations were cozy with a great private bath with large whirlpool tub. I only wished we arrived earlier in the day so we could of enjoyed the B&B front porch and gardens.

The innkeepers were very nice and made a great breakfast in the morning!

  • Liked — The privacy and private bathroom with large whirlpool tub.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a romantic weekend. This B&B was wonderful. Linda, the Innkeeper, was a sweetheart. She gave up tips for places to see and experience. She cared about our experience. The two breakfasts we ate were absolutely delicious. The location is great. It is not right in the middle of things so the noise is not overbearing, but it is close enough to everything you want to see. We will be staying there again.

  • Liked — The hospitality of Linda, the Innkeeper.
  • Disliked — The squeaky bed. :-)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

Everything about our stay was perfect! The location of 44 Spanish Street, our room, the innkeeper Linda - all perfect.

Relative to the rest of the Historic District in St. Augustine, 44 Spanish Street is NOT on a busy or loud street, even on New Year's Eve. In fact, it was a welcome escape from all of the hustle and bustle from that night's festivities.

Linda was extremely hospitable and went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure our visit was fantastic.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

If you want to stay in the heart of the historic district, this B&B is a good option.

There are a few downfalls in this B&B. First, it is located on a very busy and loud street. The two rooms in the front allowed too much light and noise to enter. Additionally, the B&B is two houses down from a bar which was playing live music until 1 am on Friday. The front rooms were also on the small side. I did peak into the other rooms, and those were bigger (like the Orchid room).

However, the innkeeper, Linda, made up for all of this. She was extremely cordial and attentive. Her breakfasts were both hearty and delicious. Of all the innkeepers in the B&Bs i've ever visited, she has been the nicest and most attentive.

So, if you don't mind the loud music, consider staying at this B&B, and get one of the rooms toward the back of the house.

  • Liked — Linda, the innkeeper...she's a great lady
  • Disliked — The noise that filtered into the room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

44 Spanish Street was our first experience staying at a B & B. I'm sold on B & B's forever now! First, the location was perfect! It's in the heart of the historic district, in walking distance from the major sites. The B & B's innkeeper, Linda, is quite pleasant and she makes a lovely breakfast...she's quite creative and hospitable! We felt quite welcomed!

For those of you who have never tried a B & B, think of it as a big house, with 8 bedrooms all with their own private bathrooms. Ours had a small jacuzzi bathtub in it and some of the others had a huge jacuzzi. Our room was a bit small, but overall it was cozy and that's what you go to a B & B for- something a little more cozy and intimate than what you could get from a hotel.

Parking is an issue in St. Augustine, so the B & B's parking lot is a few houses down from the site, but the walk was quick.

The other couples were pretty friendly, so that made breakfast a unique experience too-Being able to meet and talk with people from other cities.

It was pricy for such a small room, but the Daytona 500 was happening this weekend, in addition, to President's Day weekend, so most of the hotels and B & B's were expensive to begin with.

We went to the Columbia restaurant, which is right around the corner from the B & B and we also went to Cortesse's Bistro and Flamingo Room restaurant to celebrate my hubby's birthday. Both were nice restaurants to go to.

As an added personal touch, the innkeeper leaves a journal in each room for visitors to leave her a note before they leave.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and recommend B & B's for visits to small towns.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No maid service to make up your bed/straighten your room, but that may just be a B & B thing.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 44 Spanish Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 44 Spanish Street

Address: 44 Spanish Street, Saint Augustine, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Number of rooms: 27

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 44 Spanish Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.