We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Romantic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   142 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, WA
1 review
“So Romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

The personnel are all incredibly friendly. I was searching for a B&B that accepted pets and this was the only one that I cam across. It's a yellow house with white trim. The water is across the street although you probably can't see it from any of the rooms, except for maybe one. Pets are only allowed on the ground floor rooms (there are 2 floors) They have wireless internet and the code is provided for you on a night table in the room. All the rooms have jaccuzzis which are two seaters! Most have fireplaces, although ours was a fake electric heater kind but it still gave the idea across. They have a happy hour from 5-7pm and provide Red, White & Rose wine and about 5 different beers with cakes and a really yummy crab dip. For breakfast we were able to choose if we wanted to eat in the gazebo, patio or in the small dining room or for a bit more breakfast in bed. The food was surprizingly good, quiche with fresh fruit, bread, teas, hot coco! They serve you and you actually tell them what you want the night before from their menu list.
In the winter, St Augustine becomes like a wonderland. The town is lit up and they even have tours where they can take you around to all the decorated homes in the area. They have carriage rides, it is one of our favorite places to go. Some of the buisnesses have been hurt with the downturn of the economy and that was sad to see.
All in All, my husband and I and our dog, enjoyed our stay here. It was 2 blocks from the center of downtown, we got tipsey for happy hour for free! and our bellies were full in the morning Can't beat that!!
Oh. PS. They give a 10% Military discount =)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    64
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
99
673
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ft. myers Fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

This B&B is located directly on the Bay, about 2 blocks from the center of town, and only half a mile from the Fort, which is pretty much on the opposite side of the historic district. We travelled with our 11 month old daughter, and I was pleased that the location made it very easy for us to get around because we were so close to everything. We stayed in the King George room. It's on the first floor, only room with a private porch, and faces the Bay. Absolutely the nicest room (although I'm sure they are all nice), Our room was equipped with a fireplace, Jacuzzi and sitting area. Although this B&B seems to cater to couples as I'm sure most B&Bs do, I never felt out of place with the baby.
OveralI, I can't say enough about the staff, they were so attentive, kind, polite, and overall just fantastic. Our trip was relaxing, romantic (even with an 11month old) and I would defenatly travel to Bayfront Marin house again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

My wife and I had a great relaxing two day visit. Great view of the bay. Quiet. Some B&B's in St. Augustine are too close to bars, but this one is off the beaten path but still comfortably within walking distance to everything. The room and breakfast were top notch. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAF
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

I chose this place to take a short vacation with my boyfriend at the time and we had a blast. We stayed at the Stephanie's Hideaway room and it was so cozy...big luxurious bed, jacuzzi, and we got to choose when/where to eat our breakfasts each morning. In that particular room though, the vent was right above our heads over the bed - so it was blasting such strong A/C and was so loud I could hardly sleep. Turning it off was too hot so it was necessary. That could have just been me being picky that week, as my boyfriend was fine, or just that particular room. We ordered massages to have them in the room and they were very pleasant. The staff downstairs was very nice and accomodating, hands off as well which is not a bad thing. The location was good because we just walked a block or two and were in the middle of the great old city. Unfortunately because of the massive construction over the bridge in St. Augustine, there were periods of loud interruptions and ghastly scenery - but from the BAyfront Marin House you cannot hear nor see it so it was great on that front. In the morning on one of the days we were there, someone in the neighborhood (likely an adjacent building) was blasting the radio so loud and so early I wanted to scream!! I couldn't find the culprit though, and thank God it only happened once. The place was definitely close to what staying in Europe was like (As I lived there for years) only much more luxurious and American friendly. THe TV was tiny but who cares when you're on vacation? The fireplace was beautiful but obviously it was too hot to bother with it. My boyfriend ended up asking me to marry him out on the dock under the stars while we were there, and we are now married :)

I would definitely recommend this place to couples, probably ages 21 and over as it is more for the mature romances ;) (We're only in our mid-20s but it was certainly not a dorm-like hang out!) The robes they have in the bathrooms are amazing too, I'm buying my husband one for Christmas. This place was one of the better deals around as far as what you get for the price (TRUST Me, I searched in great depth). You will not be disappointed if you go with this place, despite the billion other choices in the area. So, it's a safe bet!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Marin House when we visited St. Augustine! The staff members are gracious and make you feel like old friends! This is definitely a home away from home. We love the porches, decks, swings, and gorgeous water views. We were even able to watch the dolphins swimming during our breakfast! You will love it here!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

My wife and I try to go to St. Augustine once a year. We have stayed many places and this was by far our favorite. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is exceptional. Rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated. They get a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We stopped in for two nights to the Bayfront Marin House before we headed up to a wedding farther north. Been to St. Augustine before when I was younger....but it's been a while. Friends recommended this place. Loved it. Stayed in the Governor White, which was perfect. Big bed for us and little trundle bed for our 4 yo daugther. We walked around a lot and especially liked the evening drinks and snacks that they had back at the Inn. Overall, great time, great location, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our tailored, elegant, laid back Victorian inn located right in the historic district. Memories for a lifetime for your vacation, wedding, honeymoon, vow renewal, family reunion. Enjoy a full southern breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities--free parking, free wifi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. The Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today--double Jacuzzi tubs, showers with two showerheads or body jets, flat screen televisions, free wifi and more. Come visit us soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.