We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever! Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   142 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Best B&B Ever! Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I were in town for my best friend's wedding (Sept 28, 2012 - Oct 1, 2012), and we all stayed at this B&B. First of all, the location is fabulous. It's within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to do while there. The room we stayed in was the Princess Margaret room, which was recently renovated, and we loved it!! The bathroom had a big jetted bathtub, and a huge shower with multiple shower heads. The bed was very comfortable (best nights of sleep I've had in a while) and there was an electric fireplace to give a romantic ambiance. It was very clean and tastefully decorated all around. Outside of our room (2nd floor) there was a seating area where we met up with friends to enjoy a cocktail and take in the view of the water.

We ordered breakfast in bed two days, and ate in the courtyard one day. The food is delicious!! A special thumbs up on their french toast and grits - best I've had in years!! They also have happy hour from 5pm-7pm daily, and the homemade sangria is amazing.

The owners (Mike and Sandy) and the rest of the staff are kind, inviting and take time to talk to you and ma ke sure you are always taken care of. We felt some at home here, and will definitely be coming back soon. We're already discussing our next trip in February.

Room Tip: All of their rooms have different themes, so make sure you go online and look at the pictures before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We're so happy to hear that you're already planning your next trip! Return guests are the biggest compliment for us! We're so glad that you enjoyed the wedding and the stay at our inn. Thank you also for mentioning the Princess Margaret room--we just finished its complete renovation at the end of August, and we really think it turned out great. We're happy that you liked it as well! Thank you for writing a review--we really appreciate it!--Mike and snady and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    59
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
95
642
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach Shores
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night when we went to a concert at the St. Augustine Amphitheater. We fell in love immediately! The location was great within walking distance to historic downtown where all the eateries and shops are. Our room was beautifully appointed and very well maintained. We had breakfast in the veranda overlooking the lake, which was so delightful. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We're so glad that you chose us for your concert visit to St. Augustine! And we're glad you mentioned the Ampitheatre--we think it's a great venue, and we're always amazed at the awesome acts that they book! Thank you so much for writing such a nice review--we hope to see you on your next trip to town!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful inn. The room that we stayed in was so nice because we could see the bay. The staff and owners were very sweet. Whatever problems we had; were handled with a very immediate and a positive response. The owners Sandy and Mike were great because they came out and spent time speaking with every guest. Bayfront Marin's "Happy Hour" was great; the homemade Sangria was out of this world good. They also had a good variety of beers. The appetizers were great as well. Their homemade truffles were so rich and creamer it just melted in your mouth. Oh so delicious! Overall, great little place to sit and relax and take in the little gem called St. Augustine.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself! If you'd like to make the sangria or truffles at home, just let us know--we're always happy to share our recipes! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review--we really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you next time!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I recently returned to the Bayfront Marin House to attend a late-afternoon, outdoor wedding. Several members of the wedding party stayed at the B&B, and thus were relaxed and all smiles for the ceremony. The waterfront setting couldn't have been more picturesque. The whole event was beautifully managed, the courtyard gazebo was attractively adorned, and the 50 or so wedding guests were made to feel extremely comfortable. Everything went off without a hitch. Thanks to the Bayfront Marin House staff for an unforgettable evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
It was nice to see you again, especially for a special event like a wedding! We're glad that you enjoyed your second visit to the inn...and we very much appreciate your comments about the wedding itself. We love being a part of our guests' celebrations--whether they're enjoying their birthday, anniversary, or even a wedding ceremony! Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in Sept 2012 and loved it. Location is excellent within easy walking distance of all the main sites and restaurants of St Augustine. Our balcony room was large with an extravagant bath and high four poster bed; it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed both our breakfasts and the happy hour drinks and nibbles. We spent most afternoons relaxing in the grounds of the B&B, sitting in the shade of the gazebo or lying in the hammock, which were perfect ways to escape the heat and humidity. Everyone at the B&B were wonderfully friendly and very helpful. We had 4 laid back days enjoying the sites of St Augustine and the comforts and hospitality of the Bayfront MArin House B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
You all did a great job of finding lots of cool spots to hang out on our grounds! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us--and we hope you can come back and see us again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just returned from a trip to the Bayfront Marin House.We were there from Sept.16th -Sept. 19th. We were celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary. Our anniversary was actually in Aug., but we decided to wait until Sept. to go to Florida, because we knew it would be a little cooler. Our trip was definitely worth the wait. Everything was perfect; from our lovely Hopkins cottage with double jacuzzi, to the swing outside the door. I even had a beautiful bouquet of roses waiting for me in our room.Mike, you and your staff were super. We appreciated the hospitality so much.We felt like we were family. We enjoyed having our breakfasts in the courtyard every morning and having the beautiful view of the bay. We also enjoyed happy hour in the afternoon and watching the beautiful sunsets from the courtyard and the swing. Mary's breakfasts and desserts were delicious. She even shared her recipe for strawberry rhubarb dump cake with me. That was so sweet. We were impressed that your staff arranged a carriage ride for us, and that the carriage picked us up right out front, took us for a tour, and delivered us to a restaurant. It was great to not have to try to schedule it ourselves. We have stayed at many B&B's in other states, but this is the best one that we have ever stayed in. We were also impressed at how close it was to everything and even to the beach. If you are looking for romance, this is definitely the place to go. We felt like we were on a second honeymoon. Thanks again to all your great staff for going out of their way to do anything for us. We hope to return to the Bayfront Marin again someday.

Room Tip: Having a room on the 1st floor is nice to have when carrying in luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We're so glad that we could make your anniversary a special one! We also really appreciate your taking the time to detail so many of our amenities--we know that our future guests will find the information helpful, but also--it just makes us feel good to know that someone enjoyed everything so much! :) We look forward to welcoming you back to St. Augustine in the future!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, oh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

B&B is located right across the street from the water & within walking distance to local shops & restaraunts. Beaches are just across the bridge (which is a few blocks away) and take only a few minutes to drive to. The variety of breakfasts ea morning were delicious and always looked forward to. The room was very clean and welcoming. We used the bicycles & beach chairs/towels which was very nice to have as an amenity. The staff was very helpful and available & always asked if everything was alright, they were geniunely interested to know if something was not to your liking. I would go again.

Room Tip: Room on the top floor front of the building is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We hope you will be able to come back and visit us again soon! We really appreciate your taking the time to write a review--and we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our newly refurbished, elegant Victorian inn located right in the historic district. Memories for a lifetime for your vacation, wedding, honeymoon, vow renewal, family reunion. Enjoy a full southern breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities--free parking, free wifi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. The Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today--double Jacuzzi tubs, flat screen televisions, free wifi and more. Come visit us soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.