We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-a-way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   142 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Harrison, oh
1 review
“Great get-a-way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

B&B is located right across the street from the water & within walking distance to local shops & restaraunts. Beaches are just across the bridge (which is a few blocks away) and take only a few minutes to drive to. The variety of breakfasts ea morning were delicious and always looked forward to. The room was very clean and welcoming. We used the bicycles & beach chairs/towels which was very nice to have as an amenity. The staff was very helpful and available & always asked if everything was alright, they were geniunely interested to know if something was not to your liking. I would go again.

Room Tip: Room on the top floor front of the building is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We hope you will be able to come back and visit us again soon! We really appreciate your taking the time to write a review--and we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    59
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
95
642
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

After months of review searching and research we decided on the Bayfront Marin Inn in St. Augustine for our baby moon. We only live a short 45 minutes away and have never stayed in San Augustine before but have always wanted to stay at a bed-and-breakfast. Upon arriving, check-in was very easy, and we were taken to our room after being given instructions on how to decide on breakfast food and location for the following morning.
We had a little trouble with our room (not their fault). Being 8.5 months pregnant it was a little warm and we were warned that turning the air conditioning down too low may freeze the unit. So instead they just relocated us to an upgraded room at no additional charge, may I add. I believe this was the King George room with a private front facing porch and very spacious interior.
We thoroughly enjoyed being able to lounge on the many choices of outdoor furniture both on the first and second-floor porches. This is where we spent most of our time during the weekend.
As for breakfast, we loved being able to sit in the gazebo or the courtyard and not just have to settle for an indoor dining room. The staff was very attentive and we never left feeling unimportant. I don't even like eggs Benedict, but I did thoroughly enjoy these. As for my husband who orders eggs Benedict any time we eat out, he said these were one of best he's ever had.
Our stay was very quiet and relaxing. We are so happy that we chose to stay here and will absolutely be back as well as highly recommend it to anyone who will listen.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your babymoon! We know you were looking forward to some relaxation--and we're glad that we could provide that for you! (Because in a few weeks, relaxation probably won't be an option! :) ) Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review for us--and we look forward to seeing pictures of the newest member of your family!!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a short weekend trip with our elderly miniture poodle ( Sugar) to St Augustine. When I called to make the reservation the gentleman on the phone was very helpful and friendly. ALL the employees at the inn were super friendly and gave us good recommendations for attractions to visit and pet friendly resturants. The rooms were decorated very tastefully and were very clean. We have stayed at some B & B in Key West and were disappointed with the cleaniness and staff. The Inn is within walking distance of resturants and tourist attractions which was a plus for our visist given our dog can not walk very far. The breakfast portion sizes were just right and the food quality was very good. We live in So. Fl and you do not always find this kind of customer service. We will definitely return and recommend this B&B to friends. Five Paws up !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thanks for the "paws up" review!! (And for introducing us to your sweet poodle--as you know, we're a big fan of "puppy love" here at the inn, and it's always nice to meet our guests' extended family!!) Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us--and thank you for all the kind words! See you next time--Mike and Sandy and the whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked here because it was pet friendly and had a great view. We loved it for that and so much more! This was possibly the cleanest place I have ever stayed. The breakfasts were wonderful and the outdoor dining was such a great treat with such a soothing and beautiful view. Happy hour was so much fun with so many of the inn's guests enjoying one another's company. We met some great guests and the staff was excellent. We are definitely planning to return with our sweet little pup!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay (including your pup!) Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review--we really appreciate it (and we appreciate your mentioning the cleanliness--our team spends a lot of time making sure that each of our rooms are beautiful and clean for our guests). We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to town!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The first time we stayed at this B&B was in May and we couldn't wait to get back! The owners and staff make the stay absolutely wonderful. When we entered the room we were impressed with the decor that brings you back to another era but with all modern amenities. Grounds are beautiful with a wonderful view of the bay. Full service breakfast unlike the continental do it yourself past experience we had at another B&B. So relaxing, didn't want to leave. Can't wait to go back. Thank you Mike and Sandy and your superior staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
You're very welcome!! Thank YOU for the wonderful review (and for your return visit--that's the highest compliment of all!) We will definitely share your very nice comments with the rest of our staff--we appreciate you mentioning them! Look forward to seeing you on your *next* visit to St. Augustine!!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Bayfront Marin House on 8/28 -8/30, checking out on 8/31. All I can say is "what a great mini-vacation". Mike and Sandy, the inn's owners, were fantastic. They took the time to talk with all the guests each day, providing info on dining, attractions and general information about the inn and the city. The staff was super! The ladies all were pleasant and each morning they served a delicious breakfast with a warm smile on the side. Mike and Sandy and the staff truly go out of their way to make sure every need is met. The afternoon happy hour is a real plus with plentiful beverages and very tasty appetizers. We enjoyed Mike's special ice cream creation, banana-oreo (yum) and the margaritas on Thurs were refreshing after a long day touring the city. The evening desserts were a special after dinner treat as well. We had the opportunity to mingle with other guests and the opinion was unanamous - we all thought the inn was great. While there are other B&B's in the area, this one has to be the best. We look forward to returning to enjoy their warm hospitality and to see more of this great city. Thank you Mike, Sandy and staff, for making our first time visit to St. Augustine special.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room in the middle of the house with a great view of Matanzas Bay. Might try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
What a nice review--you have just made our day!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to our city, and your stay in our inn. Thank you especially for mentioning the warm smiles of our staff--we feel so lucky that we have such a great team, and their cheerful attitudes are absolutely infectious! (We do love what we do, but working with such fun people makes it even better!) Thank you for taking the time to write a review--and we're looking forward to your next visit!!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole BMH Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Excellent place. This bed and breakfast is CHILDREN friendly. Very clean. great breakfast. Good service. We felt like at home. Walking distance to everywhere in old town. There are free bikes and this city is perfect to ride around. This was our first time in a bed and breakfast and the experience was fantastic. There was a beautiful couple getting married on the gazebo. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The Napolean room was beautiful but I believe they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We are so glad that your whole family enjoyed your stay!! Our rooms' private entrances definitely make the whole property more child friendly--and we're always happy to accommodate little ones!! Thank you for mentioning so many of our amenities--we appreciate your sharing details with our future guests. We hope to see your whole family again soon!!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our newly refurbished, elegant Victorian inn located right in the historic district. Memories for a lifetime for your vacation, wedding, honeymoon, vow renewal, family reunion. Enjoy a full southern breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities--free parking, free wifi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. The Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today--double Jacuzzi tubs, flat screen televisions, free wifi and more. Come visit us soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.