We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A CHRISTMAS GIFT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   142 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A CHRISTMAS GIFT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Location won our interest, Brian's help won our reservation. Fabulous stay with our pup in immaculately clean room won our return. Best quiche outside France. Brian is a gem -- friendly, helpful, welcoming, and caring! Entire staff is very pleasant and accommodating. Wanted to prolong our 3 night stay, but will have to return as a Christmas tradition. Water pressure reminds us of old Europe but even that was charming. Breakfasts and happy hours are fantastically delicious and relaxed. Grounds are beautiful, immpeccably manicured yet so relaxing. Our trip to St Augustine was a wonderful gift to ourselves made extra special by our stay at Bayfront Marin House BnB. Thank you for mailing the package we forgot upon our departure. YOU made all the difference and we thank you from our hearts. The Reids

Room Tip: King George suite has fabulous views and spectacular sunrises if you are an early riser. Upstairs g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
We thank YOU from our hearts--what a nice review (that's the best Christmas gift for us!!) As I'm typing this, Heloisa is making quiche--your comment absolutely made her day! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    59
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
96
643
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I am so pleased with how our day turned out. When I reflect back on how everything turned out, it brings a tear of joy to me! Bayfront Marin Inn blew my mind with the accomidations and hospitilaty of the staff! It was a beautiful location for our special day. We also loved Rev. David, whom we will request to baptise our baby when we return! Thank you so much Brian and everyone who was able to assist us while we spent time at your wonderful B&B. We will be back!
Nicholas and Taylor Brass

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
We are so glad that we could be a part of your special day! Thank you for taking the time to write a review--we'll definitely share it with both Brian and Rev. Shokes! See you for the baptism!!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand island, new york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Great location, courteous staff. The bayfront room was clean looking, & just as important clean smelling! Spacious with a nice little private porch. A few very minor suggestions-lighting in room could be better as could water pressure (historic property so this understandably may not be "fixable"). Grounds are very quaint & well kept. Lovely breakfast prepared to order & included with stay. Beautiful walk to many lovely upscale bistros, boutique shopping. Jaw dropping architecture at every turn. If you are the anti Disney type, you'll love all that St. Augustine & the Bayfront Marin House has to offer. We made a special stop along the way to see the Christmas lights & now plan to visit this class act "small town" city in the future. A "must see"!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in Saint Augustine, and at our inn! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our city!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We have been staying at the Bayfront Marin House B&B for over five years and wouldn’t consider staying anyplace else in St. Augustine! It’s become a Christmas tradition, and we’ve snuck in a few summer trips as well. While the B&B has always been delightful, the new owners - Mike and Sandy Wieber - are doing a great job of upgrading the amenities while maintaining the old world charm.

The rooms are uniquely furnished, comfortable, and spotless. Several of the rooms are pet friendly, a must for us, which is hard to believe considering the lovely furnishings. The staff, many of whom have been there for years, are extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and treat you like family. Be sure to ask Brian where to have dinner, or compliment Mary on the delicious breakfast on one of her many trips from the kitchen. Someone is always visible (Heloisa, if not the owners) to ask how your stay is going, and it’s evident that your experience is their #1 priority.

The nightly happy hour is bountiful, and - as well as the breakfast at the time of your choosing - provides an opportunity to make new acquaintances and share places to go/things to do. We learn something new at every stay. The location? The view of the bay at sunrise is breathtaking and Old Town is a short walk away.

We have recommended BFMH to many of our friends, and we recommend it whole-heartedly to you!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
It means so much to us when long-time guests tell us that they still love everything about the Bayfront Marin House!! As you know, we love it too--it was very important to us when we bought it in 2010 that we continue to improve it, without losing anything that made it wonderful in the first place! THANK YOU for taking the time to write a review and tell us that we're on the right track--we really appreciate it!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole BMH Staff (Thanks also for mentioning so many of our staff members--we think they're awesome too, and we'll make sure we share your comments!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were visiting Saint Augustine for a much needed vacation and booked 2 nights at the Bayfront Marin House because of the wonderful reviews and because we were bringing our dog. On arrival, the whole place was beautiful, completely decked out lights with a welcoming hammock and gazebo in the front. The desk was welcoming and we were introduced to our room #7. The decor is very romantic, historic, very beautiful and our room had a lot of character. Happy/Social hour was wonderful, there were a multitude of drinks and delicious snacks that changed every day. There is also coffee all the time in the lobby. The breakfast each morning was well organized, delicious with incredible service.

The house also has free bikes, we took the cruisers out around town, shopping and visiting museums. It was perfect as Saint Augustine is a very bikeable town. If you don't want to take out bikes, the bayfront Marin is also within a quarter/half mile of the best restaurants in Saint Augustine.

If we come to Saint Augustine again, we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself--and thank you for taking the time to mention so many details in your review! We love to hear that people have a great time with us--you've made our day! We look forward to seeing you again!!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 night at the Marin House and wished we could've stayed longer. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. The happy hour was fun and a nice precursor to our evening on the town. The staff is super friendly and very accommodating. One of the highlights of our stay was the home-cooked breakfast. When I inquired about the how the quiche was made, they gave me a print out of the recipe! That's the kind of place this is. I look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us (and we'll tell Donna how much you enjoyed the quiche!!) Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review--we look forward to your next (longer) stay!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclenny, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

What a wonderful place! We have been returning to St Augustine for the past 8 years for our Anniversary. My husband and I decided to stay in a different place this year. We were very pleased. The breakfast was excellent, the grounds were beautiful and the view of the bay was amazing. The staff was very helpful and friendly too.

Thank you for a wonderful experience. We plan to return on our 10th Anniversary.

The Gallo's

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you so much--we're glad that we could make your anniversary special!! We look forward to seeing you next year for your 10th!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our newly refurbished, elegant Victorian inn located right in the historic district. Memories for a lifetime for your vacation, wedding, honeymoon, vow renewal, family reunion. Enjoy a full southern breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities--free parking, free wifi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. The Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today--double Jacuzzi tubs, flat screen televisions, free wifi and more. Come visit us soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.