We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Galeon

El Galeon
Saint Augustine Municipal Marina, 111 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Mulberry, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I've read the other great reviews and feel like I must have been on a different ship. It was a self guided tour, but not very interesting stories or facts. I downloaded an audio app to use but all of the audio clips didn't work. There were "actors" on board to do 4 short comedy skits. Not good at all. I feel like we wasted $51 on this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    11
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“El Galeon, a rare experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We saw this replica from a distance crossing the bridge in St. Augustine. It is worth the time and money visiting and seeing the workmanship of this replica of a 15th-17th century Spanish ship. Be sure to see the video of the work involved in building it. Younger children might not be able to sit through it, but older ones probably would. Beautiful, fully operational ship visiting only through early June.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“What fun this was”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

As a history buff I love anything that helps me see what it might have been like to live during a certain period. I'm not particularly fond of being on the water so this was a wonderful way to see this type of ship close up. Going below and seeing the canon was fun. We also watched the video of how they made the ship and we were tickled when a four year old asked her dad where the pirates were. Had a great time on the ship.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sailing the high seas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We wanted to visit this ship because it is only in St. Augustine for a few months out of the year. It is a beautiful Spanish ship that sails from Spain each year. Make sure you see the short video on how the ship was completed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“El Galeon, One of a Kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Took my son from college on a tour. We were on the front of the ship when the Bridge of Lions went up. Horn sounded, gates coming down, ships going though, lots of people on the bridge looking down on us. Way cool to watch all of this from the deck of this tall ship.

Got talking with one of the crew members that spoke good English and got him to tell the story of how he ended up working and living on this ship. Got a real sense of why young men run off to the sea to become sailors. The ship was built using the original design records for Spanish Gallons from the 16th Century. It was built it the same shipyard that built the original ships. If you want to experience what a 16th Century sailor must have seen and felt so long ago, then this is the ticket.

Saw some ships coming into the city docks and some ships leaving. Seemed every ship must have a story. Some people with big money, others with less that love living on and running a boat.

Low budget operation, real Spanish sailors, that really live on the ship. I was told all of the 15 dollar ticket goes to the museum in Spain that operates the ship and to the City for the 450th event.

No elevator, you must be able to handle stairs.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Galeon also viewed

Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to El Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Galeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.