We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ximenez-Fatio House

The Ximenez-Fatio House
20 Aviles Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904-829-3575
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dating to the Spanish town plan of 1573, the property is a centerpiece of St. Augustine’s oldest settlement and is a feature along the city’s first platted thoroughfare, Aviles Street.“The Ximenez~Fatio House museum is one of the first to interpret 19th century women’s history”William Seale, Ph.D.; author, historian, and consultant for interpretation since the 1970’s.
Brandon, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A trip back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our entire family was really interested in this house and the history that was shared during the tour. The tour guide brought the house to life and really caught the attention of the younger kids (and older ones as well). The tour was so much more than expected. This lesson in history is so much more than what you can get out of a book. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    25
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cooperstown, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Judy gave a exceedingly interesting tour of this historic gem of a museum. Really got a sense of how the folks lived in this tropical climate. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Last tour ended 30 minutes before posted time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I was so disappointed that I did not get to take the tour. I arrived in time for the 3:30 pm tour and was told they had decided to make the last tour for 3:00 pm even though the website still said 3:30. Very disappointing! Watched a short video and the welcoming lady was very nice....just wished they would have posted the time change on the internet site!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximenez-Fatio H, Owner at The Ximenez-Fatio House, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Rebecca,
We are sorry you weren't able to tour our museum last week. We have addressed the issue with our website and are having the posted hours changed to reflect our current tour schedule. Thanks for the complement for our staff, and please call us at (904) 829-3575 the next time you visit St Augustine, and we would be happy to offer you and our family a complimentary tour of the XF House Museum as our guests. We look forward to seeing you again and sharing our history with you.
Best Wishes for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very knowledgable guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Despite this attraction having a 5 star rating on Tripadvisor we were amazed to find that we were the only two people being shown round by Brad. I fully agree with all the previous sentiments expressed about the guides and their knowledge.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tour of Ximenez-Fatio House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The tour guide was fantistic and knowledgable, Great tour and if you're camera nut, there are plenty of photos to take.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ximenez-Fatio House also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to The Ximenez-Fatio House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ximenez-Fatio House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ximenez-Fatio House to your Saves list