We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff is the star of this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 W Castillo Dr, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The staff is the star of this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Most of the reviews sound like a broken record...."needs updating". I agree with that. The hotel is on the older side, but I think it adds to the charm, since St Augustine is "old" as a whole.

The rooms were spacious and clean. It had a microwave, mini fridge, Direct TV, iron and board. The breakfast was excellent in my opinion. Biscuits, gravy, sausage, eggs, cereals, pastries and muffins.

Everyone in the staff was super friendly. I called them directly to book, called them again to let them know I was a late arrival. They also helped me out with directions the next day. Always with a smile.

The hotel does charge a 5 dollar a day parking fee. But parking in St Augustine is BRUTAL.....so the 5 bucks seemed like a good deal considering most public parking lots are 10 bucks a day and the hotel is within walking distance to most attractions. So you can park your car and walk everywhere. I checked out and left my car at the hotel until mid afternoon so I could get some more sight seeing in before I left town.

Don't expect a fancy hotel.....just a decent, clean place, centrally located with a great staff.

Room Tip: If you stay towards the front, you will hear cars passing by. If possible request a room toward the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! But YOU are the star of our hotel! We try to give everyone a great stay and do our best to make everyone feel welcome!
I'm so glad to hear you tried our new hot menu items on our breakfast! We're trying this out for the first time in years and are limiting it to weekends and special days only. We want to make sure we're getting it right!
We can't wait for you to come back again and have an even better stay!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    147
    73
    26
    19
See reviews for
108
153
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlanger, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This past July made my 35th trip to St. Augustine. My favorite city and vacation spot. After 34 trips of staying at the same hotel until the owner passed and then staying at the Hilton Bayfront, which we did NOT care for due to rude staff and the allowance of anyone off the streets to enter the hotel, we decided to stay elsewhere.

I have never not stayed at a hotel with a bay view. We love waking up to the sun rising over the bay with the fort on one side and the bridge on the other. There is nothing more beautiful!!

So, this year (July 2013) we decided to stay at the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn. We stay at a Best Western when we travel to Myrtle Beach so why not stay there this time.

I am so glad that we did!!!!! We didn't have our bay view or the fort to look at; but we did have a very clean and newly remodeled room with a fridge, the most amazing and accommodating front desk staff, a great breakfast in the morning, and wonderful housekeeping.

The rooms were quiet, even the guests who stayed there were friendly and polite. We all chatted at breakfast about our day a head or what we did the night before. The hotel is located about a block from the city gate, and if you ride the trolley or train you had numerous stops to choose from that ran by this hotel. We didn't even care that we were no longer on the main street with a bay view, because we had the nicest people running this hotel and spoke with the friendliest people staying there. In this world of cold unfriendly people we found a little piece of heaven at this Best Western. Yes, this is our favorite city in the world, but it was the employees of this hotel that made our stay so great.

When my husband checked in, the front desk said to please excuse the curtains in the room. That they were next to be replaced. There was nothing wrong with the curtains. The room was perfect the way it was.

Before I end this I must comment on and compliment the housekeeping staff. They went above and beyond. Our daughter in 13 and she brought several of her stuffed animals on this trip. I am one of those people that clean the room before housekeeping comes in (haha), so I would place her animals out of the way so they would not have to deal with them. Each evening when we returned to our room our room was spotless as usual with soaps nicely displayed. But what really touched us was whoever did our room, always arranged her stuffed animals in a new way every day on the bed. I had to comment to the hotel manager. I told him that Disney had competition!!! Disney always displays kids toys and stuffed animals in a fun way. And whoever did our room was up there with Disney.

All I can say is to give this little hotel a try. You will not be disappointed. Where else can you go in this rush and hurry rude world an feel like part of a family.

Room Tip: Any room would be good. There is no elevator, so if you can not walk the steps you might want the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
What a great review from a great guest! We loved having you come stay with us and are so glad to have given you such a memorable stay!
When you come back, you'll find that we really have updated even more! We're adding hot items to our breakfast menu on the weekends and we're going to be replacing the bathroom tile!
It's great to hear from such wonderful people, telling us how we did! We can't wait for you to come back so we can take care of you again!
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Perfect spot for the one night we spent in St. Augustine. The beds were very comfortable and the staff helpful. the breakfast was on the minimalist side but adequate. The location was perfect for walking all around the historic district and the still very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Ruth, thanks for coming to our hotel! So glad you enjoyed your stay! During the week, we do offer the standard Best Western Continental breakfast and also include hard boiled eggs and make your own waffles. On the weekends, we're now trying out a hot menu! Please come back on a weekend and give us a try! You'll find the same eager, helpful staff that wants to give you a quality stay! You'll also find we've done even more renovations done!
We can't wait for you to come back!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were moving our daughter into Flagler College and wanted to be close to the downtown area. This hotel was a bit off the beaten path, and seemed more like a run-down, grungy motel. Our room smelled like mold and the awkward bathroom design was cramped and uncomfortable. The hot tub was not fully jetted and sat, with the pool, practically in the parking lot. We have stayed in other Best Westerns before, and this one did not seem like it belonged in the same category. Advice? Do not book this hotel. I think there are 5 BWs in the area - just pick another chain!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We appreciate your coming to stay at our hotel and apologize that we didn't live up to your standards. We are very similar to many downtown St Augustine hotels in that we have an older property, (ours is 50 years old) and have limited space. To a large extent, we have spent a great deal of time and money remodeling with new furniture, paint, carpet and mattresses! We are continuing that effort and will be updating the bathrooms in short time!
Thanks again for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Could use an update, friendly staff, and as in title it's within walking distance of a lot of the sites. Good breakfast, across street from tour pick up/drop off location. Not sure what else to say, never intended on finding 200 character to describe a stay at a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for telling us about your visit!
We actually have done a lot of updating of rooms this year including new paint, carpets, furniture and mattresses! We're continuing with the process and have plans to put in new tile and even update our breakfast!
When you come back, you'll have an even better time than you did during this one!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Enjoyed my visit. This hotel has made some nice upgrade and was most importantly clean. The service personel were friendly and helpful. Location was great if you are able to walk to the downtown areas. I look forward to returning to this very hotel often.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and feedback! We look forward to you coming back! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and our new renovations! We hope to have even more done by the end of the year. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Incredible location, in walking distance from Ripley's and the Old Town. Classy decor, terrific water temps and pressure, nice breakfast room / offerings. The staff were very kind and even gave us some milk after hours for the baby, saving us a ride to the grocery store. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We love hearing from our guests and hearing that our staff took care of you! I'm glad to hear that they took proper care of you!
It was great having you and we can't wait for you to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn

Address: 6 W Castillo Dr, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newly renovated Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn! We're in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We have comfortable, petite rooms and breakfast is included. You can even enjoy complimentary room service! We are walking distance to St. George Street, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, the Lightner Museum and the Castillo de San Marcos. We provide leisure travelers with affordable and comfortable accommodations. Sightseeing trains conveniently stop right in front or our property. Nestled in downtown St. Augustine, the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn offers all the conveniences you need for a pleasant vacation. You can also relax in our refreshing pool or stare at the stars in our whirlpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spanish Quarter Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.