We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Twice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 W Castillo Dr, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Lantana, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Think Twice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have yet to read a review that has a real response from management. All the ones I have read do not address any negative issues. I booked my room through AAA. I expected a clean quiet room with a refrigerator. It cost me almost $250 for two nights. There was no refrigerator. The asst mgr said we could walk over and use the office refrigerator for our water. She kept pushing the trolly instead of telling me how to get to things we wanted to see. The towels were dingy yellowish and you practically had to step into the tub before you could close the bathroom door, we had ants and I found some strange bug crawling on my shoe, (I have no idea what it was).We had noise from the pool til almost ten at night as well as noisy people walking past our door both nights. The breakfast room was tiny and less than minimal. We could could have gone to a 7-11 and gotten a better breakfast. The only postive thing about the room was the shower pressure. To top things off, even though I had booked through AAA, the office said it was through someone else and I had to pay $10.60 to park at the hotel. The asst mgr said the room had already been deducted from my card and I had to pay $10.60 more or not park there. Also the A/C blew right on the bed and you cannot change the angle of the air and was extremely noisy.
Think twice before you book here. Go across the Bridge of Lions and get more of what you pay for.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Go across the bridge to get your moneys worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hello Kathleen, I am extremely sorry for your bad experience at our hotel. after reading your comments me personally and my staff with make sure thta all rooms are up to date and even AAA mention that we charge for the parking. I apologise once again for the inconvinience.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    144
    72
    26
    19
See reviews for
107
150
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The two strong points of the "Spanish Quarter Inn" are its location and solid wifi. St. Augustine is small and very walkable, and you pay to park everywhere, if you can find an empty space. Having a hotel right downtown where you can leave your car and walk through the historic center is a big plus.

Alas, in other respects not so great. Everything feels a bit crammed in. Tiny bathrooms - ours had a warped door and very weak shower. Maid service seemed to forget to replenish plastic cups. The photos on the corporate website make its facilities seem larger than they are. Tiny breakfast room (4 tables) - the only fruit offered were oranges. You can make your own waffles if you can avoid the crush of people trying to use it. Small uninviting pool. During our stay, the hotel switched from cable to Direct TV. Better TV (HTMI), but not all channels accessible.

Clearly St. Augustine has been hit by the recession, and this hotel shows signs of stress. It would receive a higher rating if the rate were $55 a night. At more than double that, it's fundamentally overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hello, I like to apologise fopr the inconvinienece caused, me and my staff are trying to upgrade our rooms and bathrooms, and also our break fast area. So i hope when you come and stop by next time you will be able to enjoy your stay.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in early July. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and spacious. It's a short, easy walk to the Historic Area. The sightseeing trolley has a stop across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you ,for taking the time to write a review for Best Western Spanish Quarter. We are glad to know that you and your family had a wonderful time staying here. Me and my staff always try to make sure that our customer have the best time, when they stay here. Thank you for your review again, and we will see you next time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the St. Augustine area that is planning to see the historic sites. This hotel was an all around great experience. The staff introduce themselves to you as you arrive and are VERY friendly and courteous throughout the entire stay. Sheri, the manager was exceptionally accommodating to us due to my dad's physical limitations. She and her staff were extremely kind and helpful. The rooms were nice decorated, clean, and up to date. We had fun at the pool, although it was kind of small. The breakfast was great. My kids loved the waffles and I loved the hard boiled eggs and coffee. The high speed wireless internet was really HIGH SPEED and the best part is, it was free. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you Miriam, for taking the time to write a review for Best Western Spanish Quarter. We are glad to know that you and your family had a wonderful time staying here. Me and my staff always try to make sure that our customer have the best time, when they stay here, and I am glad to know that you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast , and your kids enjoyed the pool. Thank you for your review again, and we will see you next time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My cousin and I stayed for a week in June and this hotel is so convenient to downtown. We were very pleased with our room even though the bathroom was really small. The rooms had recently been renovated and very clean. This was a perfect location to stay and was within walking distance of the historic district. We had free shuttle service and was across the street from 3 different places to get on the trolley. The parking was not the best but since we rode the trolley every day, we only moved our car a couple times all week. The breakfast was plenty to jump-start our mornings and then off to explore the oldest city in the US. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help with info or any questions we asked. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone whether you stay one night or longer. I will definitely stay here again myself!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hello Sir, Myself Siddharth Dua ,the General Manager of Best Western Spanish Quarter, thanking you for the wonderful comment. We are pleased that you like our hotel and happy to know that we were able to make ur stay very pleasant.
Thank you, see you on your way next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel is so convenient to downtown. We are Florida residents and travel to South Carolina several times a year to visit family. This is the perfect location! We arrive late in the day just intime for a quick stroll in the historc district then its off to supper usually at the "Acapulco" resturant right on the bay side. Do not miss out on "Spanish Dutch Convoy" it is the best leather purse store I have ever seen. The staff at the hotel has always been very friendly and helpful. The parking is not the best but as I said we park and walk. The rooms are clean and have been rerurbished. The breakfast is in a small room but the waffles were awesome! they had everything you could want to eat. You could take your food to your room if you wanted.
I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thanks a lot, for your comment.....At our hotel Best Western Spanish Quarter, we try to make sure our guests are happy and they enjoy their stay. Me, Siddharth Dua , the General Manager of the hotel and my staff are always there at your service, and will give our best to make your stay delightful.... Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

$5/night to park, clean and quiet, good breakfast, within walking distance to historic area. nice pool

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Hello Sir, I apologies for the inconvenience at the break fast room, and the bathroom. We are trying to update our hotel, with some new look to room and bathrooms. And we will try to make sure that when you come next time you will enjoy our hotel with new upgrade and good breakfast.
Thank you
Siddharth Dua, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn

Address: 6 W Castillo Dr, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newly renovated Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn! We're in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We have comfortable, petite rooms and breakfast is included. You can even enjoy complimentary room service! We are walking distance to St. George Street, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, the Lightner Museum and the Castillo de San Marcos. We provide leisure travelers with affordable and comfortable accommodations. Sightseeing trains conveniently stop right in front or our property. Nestled in downtown St. Augustine, the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn offers all the conveniences you need for a pleasant vacation. You can also relax in our refreshing pool or stare at the stars in our whirlpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spanish Quarter Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.