We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break Like Condition” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 W Castillo Dr, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
South Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Spring Break Like Condition”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Hotel is in a good location, staff at desk are very nice and very friendly and free breakfast is enough to fill you up before you leave, but the rooms are just dismal. A major over haul of the condition of the rooms are completely necessary. Extra pests in the room is not a bonus feature. Towels are scratchy. A/C hushes the outside noise. Parking fee is not necessary. I am looking forward to checking out.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    165
    82
    28
    23
See reviews for
122
179
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We needed a bed on our impromptu stay in St. Augustine. And that is what you get at the BW Spanish Quarter. No frills. The only thing smaller than the toilet/shower room was the breakfast nook in the lobby. Parking is an issue, too. The location is within walking distance of the historic district, which is the best thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We only stayed one night. The room seemed small especially the bathroom but it was clean which is what mattered most to us. This is a good value if you're looking for a great location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I chose this hotel for brand and location. It's only a block from the old city gates and cobblestone streets of historic Old Town. It's an older hotel, but very clean and well-kept. Because it's an older property, the rooms are smaller and it's the split-bathroom style where the sink/vanity is in the main room, while the toilet and tub/shower are in a separate little room. The beds were comfy and linens immaculate.

The hotel provides breakfast, which includes homemade waffles. The wi-fi was a little slow, but acceptable. The location was quiet at night. There was enough parking, but they add a $5 per night surcharge, which I find annoying. Why not just roll it into the room rate? All in all, we were very satisfied with this hotel and will stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Please, do yourself a favor and avoid this hotel. The bug warnings in other reviews are real! Gross! And you know they've sprayed for the bugs--so are my kids playing in bug spray over everything? This is a run down, old hotel--avoid it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We stayed here for a night, and got a discounted room ($59) on account of there only being a smoking room available. Room itself was a bit dated, with very noisy exhaust fan and close to the pool area which was also a bit noisy. We saw a couple of cockroaches, probably on account of the room being on the ground floor and close to moisture. But for the price, it was pretty good value, and within walking distance to the centre of St Augustine. We also got complimentary parking (normally $5) which was a plus. Front counter service was excellent. We didn't avail ourselves of the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

My wife and I stayed in several Best Western hotels whilst driving around Florida. This one was average but comfortable. We felt it was a little overpriced (although we were there on a Pirates' weekend) and we were surprised to find we were charged to park in the hotel's car park ($5 a night). The Town itself was fascinating. The hotel is situated 5 minutes away from the Old Town and about 3 minutes from the Waterfront. There is a Trolley stop opposite the hotel - 1 minute walk away. The beds were comfortable in reasonably sized rooms. There was an adequate complimentary breakfast, taken in a very small lounge next to reception, although watch out for the toaster - it kept blowing! There is no restaurant at this hotel but Barnacle Bill's next door was a good, basic seafood restaurant (also had a nice steak), reasonably priced with friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn

Address: 6 W Castillo Dr, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newly renovated Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn! We're in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We have comfortable, petite rooms and breakfast is included. You can even enjoy complimentary room service! We are walking distance to St. George Street, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, the Lightner Museum and the Castillo de San Marcos. We provide leisure travelers with affordable and comfortable accommodations. Sightseeing trains conveniently stop right in front or our property. Nestled in downtown St. Augustine, the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn offers all the conveniences you need for a pleasant vacation. You can also relax in our refreshing pool or stare at the stars in our whirlpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spanish Quarter Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.