We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Pat Croce experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Government House Museum

Government House Museum
48 King St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904-825-5033
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
625 reviews 625 reviews
285 attraction reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
“Another Pat Croce experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This attraction has been given a major overhaul by the people who brought you the colonial quarter renewal and it has made a major difference. We had been to the old one and came away a little underwhelmed. Pat Croce's magic blend of hands on and high tech has made this a whole new ballgame. I think it's still the weakest of the three (Colonial Quarter, Pirate and Treasure museum) but still is a great hour of history delivered as entertainment. Everything is authentic and presented in context but keeps your interest and provides tired kids with a chance to do some hands on. There is a lot of reading for the history nuts among us but lots of multi-media to provide much of the same info is a more engaging format. Buy the combo pack ticket and see all three.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“place is closed - don't waste your time without calling ahead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Listed as Gem in AAA book. We were looking forward to seeing it. Did not know it was closed for renovation. Even the trolley driver didn't know. Either that or he forgot to mention it. We were there on March 28th. Very disappointed. Why have this closed at this time of year? Unbelievable!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another place that is hidden in plain sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Right downtown on the Plaza and yet for years we ignored this place until we went looking for some bathrooms. And there is was. Definitely a place to spend some time and it provides a wealth of information about St. Augustine. Stop in for the bathrooms and spend some time but be forewarned that the hours are somewhat short.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Historical building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The building is historical and there are some displays inside. It is very basic. I particularly appreciate the bathrooms in it and we make use of them every time we go to St. Augustine. I rated it average but I am being unkind in that it is not hyped as so many things are now. It is basic and the way it might have been displayed 50 years ago. Not modern or updated, which is not necessarily a bad thing.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is good. A lot of people go through here quick but you can spend a long time here reading everything. There's a lot of history here. You can even listen to info, see huge scenic pictures, and see and go in boat replicas. For fun, have your picture taken by the weird sculptures of people. Worth going here

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Government House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Government House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Government House Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.