We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica Cathedral

Basilica Cathedral
40 Cathedral Pl., Saint Augustine, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Land O Lakes, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Cathedral is one to visit and admire the beauty of it. Light a candle and sit and look at all it has.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    98
    28
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
440 helpful votes 440 helpful votes
“Truly remarkable Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This truly remarkable Cathedral is closely tied in with the history of St. Augustine, so I recommend a visit when you are in town. You can get basic information on the history of the cathedral from their web site.

We have been here so often – we always pop in every year and often are lucky enough to get Confession – it is a very special for contrition. The artwork is truly very special. One of the first features you will likely notice is the open-timbered roof. The gold statues on the altar are of Jesus Christ with St. Peter and St. Augustine. The beautiful stained glass windows depict scenes from the life of St. Augustine. The murals depict the founding of St. Augustine and the role of Catholicism in its history. The bell tower was added following the fire of 1887 thanks to a donation by Henry Flagler. There is no admission fee, but donations are gratefully accepted to help with the maintenance of the building – give generously – this is truly a very special building.

I plan one day to hear Mass here on a Sunday either in the late morning or late afternoon early evening on a Sunday.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

such a very pretty cathedral. well worth stopping in and taking a look at. The craftsmanship was out standing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Religious Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a must visit if your in St. Augustine. Situated in the heart of the Historical section, across the street from the "Plaza and Governors Residence" No matter what your faith and as it happens I'm not Catholic but I do enjoy visiting houses of worship. It was as we say a Religious Experience. Its simply beautiful and peaceful

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Saint Augustien”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I am from new england and I'm not a very religouse person but this church shows a distinct culture and style well. It was huge and it took my breath away. It's a great stop if your walking around and takeng in the history of the area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Basilica Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.