We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service by Fabian & great view sitting on porch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acapulco Mexican Restaurant

Acapulco Mexican Restaurant
12 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-3601
904-808-9933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #269 of 485 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great food, great service by Fabian & great view sitting on porch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Fabian was an excellent server and very attentive. We sat on the porch overlooking the waterfront and the view was wonderful. Food was excellent with large portions and great flavor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    70
    53
    25
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quality of Food has plummeted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This used to be one of our favorite restaurants in St Aug. (Back alley pizza is still number 1). But on our last visit it was terrible. The upstairs is closed, they said for lack of A/C, but the outside balcony upstairs never had A/C anyway but it did have a great view of the fort and the waterway. But the main reason we went was the food. But the food (burritos) was perhaps the worst Mexican I or my wife have ever had. I had the red sauce on beef (tasted much more akin to spaghetti in a tortilla). My wife had the chicken with green sauce which was completely tasteless. There are plenty of other options in the city so definitely try those. (on the plus side the burritos were only $7.50 apiece)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Inedible, disgusting, worst money I've spent.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

So we just returned from St. Augustine, and we were recommended by two people to go to Acapulco Restaurant on the end by the fort. They both said the food was good and the view was nice. So, we went. Bad choice. Maybe it is because the weekend is busy and we went during the week so the food wasn't as fresh because traffic was slower. But it was horrendous.

The guacamole came out and it was brown. Now I consider myself a somewhat Mexican food aficionado, and I couldn't even stand eating it after taking one bite. My husband managed to get some of it down because he said he was just hungry and wanted to eat something.

Also our waiter kept disappearing. Overall it was a horrible experience. We paid and still left a tip even though the food was inedible, because that is the type of people we are, but I thought I should warn folks of how awful it truly is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quite a bit of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were here for lunch and the portions were very large. The food was quite tasty and the service was just right. Great location.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent service and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I ate lunch here the Friday that Gentlemen of the Road took over the city. We were part of the out-of-towners taking over. First, Maribell, our server, was excellent! She was very friendly and helpful!

We ordered queso and nachos and loved it all. My husband is Mexican and from Texas, so he is quite picky when it comes to Mexican food. He was thoroughly impressed. We both agreed that the refried beans were definitely authentic and delicious.

We sat on the second floor, inside and took in the sights of the Fort and the waterways.

Maribell and the food were a perfect start to a great weekend in SA.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acapulco Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Acapulco Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acapulco Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.