We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront to your Saves list
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice location, great view, and excellent room! We stayed the 11/30-12/1 weekend and caught the parade. Even though it was raining, it was still lots of fun being able to watch it while eating breakfast and then from the balcony of our room.

It certainly is on the pricey side but as other reviewers have pointed out all the staff is top notch. They are very accomodating and helpful with anything that you require. We had dinner in the Aviles Restaurant and the "buffet" breakfast. The Avile Restaurant is excellent and could easily stand alone against any other restaurant in the area - it's not like your standard hotel food. This place is solid! My wife and I each tried the Prime Rib special which was all the prime rib you wanted for $22. Came with bread, salad, and a side. Awesome! Also have their ham and cheese croquettes as an appetizer. Food was great!

Only issue we had was that our bathroom was a little dirty but after our call down to the front desk, they quickly remedied the situation. There will always be problems, but that is really the sign of a good hotel - good management and quality people. I recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for balconies with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and review of our hotel and historic city. I am sorry you had an issue with our housekeeping and am glad to know that it was corrected immediately. I assure you, we expect no problems in housekeeping ang I do apologize that we had to come back and correct the situation. Please return soon, we will make sure everything is perfect for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    230
    67
    29
    18
See reviews for
185
456
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location - can't beat it ! That's the only great thing to say - otherwise it's actually really a disappointment being a Hilton - the rooms are comfortable/decent - but dated. The halls and carpet are in need of work. I was uncomfortable that the "key access" to the buildings were not used - pretty much open access from the streets - security odviously isn't a concern. We didn't eat at the hotel -- too many other great places in the area to eat and drink. The staff was ok - not exactly the Hilton Standard for Customer Service. The parking is a total rip off -- $21 to park -- really?

Room Tip: ask to stay on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am sorry you didn't enjoy our decor. The hotel was required to build to standards required in the historic district and we chose to furnish the hotel in period furniture. Obviosly that precludes normal Hilton furniture and it would appear dated if viewed out of context. The hotel is secure at night as we have a security guard on duty and he locks all the accesses as well as monitors the traffic in and out. The hotel consists of 19 building interconnected and so while access seem easy, there are security locks at night as well as security cameras. Lastly, to build in the district requires special arrangements for parking and thus we charge for that amenity. I realize my answers will not satisfy your complaints but I wanted to let you know that we certainly have tried to address concerns such as you have raised. I hope you will return to our city agin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our stay here was wonderful and we would definitely come back.
Overall the pros were: great location, great views, lots of charm and character, clean, friendly staff, comfortable room, and great valet service.
Overall the cons were: slow service for the breakfast (might have been a one-time fluke).
We stayed here for our anniversary and they left a bottle of champagne in our room; what a great touch!

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the river and balcony if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and review that you posted. Our effort is to provide the very best in service in all areas and I apologize the we aere lacking in the breakfast service. I will discuss this with our F&B Director immediately to prevent a recurrence in the future. Please return to sttay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

You can't beat the location of this hotel - it's right near everything a tourist would want to walk to. That's also a minus if you have kids and aren't drinking yourself silly at night. Your rooms are right next to an unending procession of drunk revellers returning at all hours of the night. Also, some rooms are susceptible to the kitchen odors, giving your stay a cooked onion overall feel. Shower water pressure is weak. Otherwise pleasant staff. Not quite up to the Hilton name.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I am sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. Our goal is to always strive to provide the very best in Hilton standards. I appreciate your constructive criticism and assure you we will make every effort to improve in the areas you cited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I spent Christmas 2012 in Saint Augustine Florida. We chose the Hilton downtown because of the Hilton Brand and we always stay with the Hilton. We were disappointed in the accommidations. The room was small and the furniture seems a little crowded. The staff was excellent and eager to please. My biggest surprise was the fact there was no microwave. I found out that the hotel was a partial refurbish of an older existing motel and new structures. I felt the room we had was part of the old motel as it seemed a little dated. As for the restaurant it was very good. Overall the price was a bit more that the accommidations provided as we had a great view of the alley and roof. Not impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectaions. Let me first clarify that our hotel is entirely new construction, opening in 2005. It is actually 18 separate buildings interconnected by a corridor system. The buildings foot prints and exterior design, including balconies were built in compliance with construction requirements of the historic district. The buildings and furnishings are an attempt to replicate the Second Spanish Era of St. Augustine. Most full service Hilton properties do not proide individual microwaves in the room. I apologize if you expected one. When making reservations you will find the individual Hilton properties provide a list of their amenities in their information on the web site.

It is good to know our staff and restaurant were up to your standards and we appreciate that feedback. I hope you will return in the future so we can provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a great place to stay in the Old City. Location is premium. Staff excellent. I had originally reserved a place two miles away and after we checked in, I realized I had made a major mistake. I called the Hilton and thankfully I was able to secure two rooms. They were beautiful and luxurious. The view of the water was special. The breakfast buffet was delicious. If you go to Saint Augustine, dont be tempted to cut corners. The Hilton will meet your needs and it is quite a value too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and review. I am pleased we were able "save" your visit to the oldest city. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you as a return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is well situated for the sights of St. Augustine. It also has nice views from some rooms of the sea, get a second floor room for views. The hotel is well furnished. It was Christmas time, and they did a great job with decorating. The staff are really excellent, from checkin to valets, to breakfast cooks. (btw all parking is valet - not too bad considering you can walk to everything in St. Aug).

Room Tip: Second Floor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed the convenience of our location. It is also rewarding to know our staff provided a service level that met your needs and expectations. I hope you will return to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront

Address: 32 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Saint Augustine
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
#13 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine
Hilton Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.