We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Regency Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regency Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   331 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32080 (Formerly the Wellesley Inn And Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 75 hotels in Saint Augustine
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

We spent 2 weeks here and were perfectly satisfied: good location, clean, nice people, functional and quiet. Indoor heated swimming pool was a plus. I was a bit worried because of a bad review by another traveller but it was obviously a person with a bad attitude. Breakfast , though abundant, could be improved a bit ( some fiber-rich cereals, maybe ?). All in all great value for the money. My only complaint is with hotels.com which was overcharging us , their guarantee of the lowest price notwithstanding. They had charged us 30 % more in Euros by applying a 1:1 instead of 1:1,30 rate of exchange. So fellow Europeans beware of what hotels.com is charging you .

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    81
    43
    15
    12
See reviews for
62
81
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

Beautiful rooms, new & clean. The staff was wonderful. Especially Jackie who helped us out when our originally planned "stay" across the street at the St. Augustine Beachfront Resort went south. Beware of that dump! We are definately staying at the Regency Inn in 2007 when our vacation rolls around.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — The pier and ocean is only across the street. We could watch it from our room.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

Terrible. Dingy and dirty. There are so many better places to stay in St. Augustine on the beach. It really is a shame as the location is good, but the property management and upkeep is sorely lacking.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't Stay Here!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

this place is a nasty dump. And for the man that works the desk what poor customer service , I am glad he does not work for me! He was no help at all and the stains on the sheets topped it all off. I checked out the same night I checked in. Check out some other hotels on the street.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — nasty and poor service
  • Tips/Secrets — dont stay here
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2006

Just got back from a week there. The hotel was pretty much as expected, based on reviews here. It's not a 4-star resort, but it's in good shape for a beach hotel. Everything was well maintained and clean. The building has obviously been remodelled in the past few years.

The carpet was a bit dirty and turned the bottom of the kids' feet black after running around for a while. The bathroom was clean and mildew-free, but if it were my house, I'd have wanted to replace the worn bathtub fixtures. The room had a minifridge and a microwave, which worked well. The hair dryer was a little flakey and didn't want to run for more than a few minutes at a time.

The room had the typical motel individual air conditioner mounted under the window. I hate those units, because the only way to effectively cool the room is to freeze the one person that sleeps closest to it. But this hotel certainly isn't the only one to use them.

The indoor pool turned out to be a big plus. It's small, but we were almost always the only people in it. It's a great way to get out of the sun and cool down after walking back from the beach. Since it's heated (when needed), it would probably be busy in the colder winter months. There was a shower and towels at the side of the pool, which also helped clean up after walking back from the beach.

The hotel is in an ok location. It's behind a gas station / convenience store, which we were a little worried about, but it's well separated by a wall and only adjoins the office / pool area, not where the rooms are located. It's also next to a storage lot, so you can see the tops of tractor/trailers and boats over the north wall. But on other sides of the property, you've got $300,000 condos and a more expensive resort.

It's directly across from the big pier, which makes a great sunrise or after dark walk. It's almost exactly one quarter mile from the lobby to the water's edge, a walk that even my kids didn't seem to mind.

We used the small laundry room while we were there and both the washer and dryer worked fine and were kept pretty clean.

The daily free continental breakfast went over well with the kids and saved us $5-10 a day. I believe there was free wireless internet at least in the lobby, but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

We have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times because of its location to the beach. The staff has always been helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast is a plus when you are traveling with children. The rooms are always clean and nice. Travel time to the old town of St. Augustine is just 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2006

Great price, approximately three minutes walking distance from ocean, room was clean, bed was comfortable but a little hard. Continental breakfast was average. Housekeeping did not clean. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Overall, an excellent hotel for the price and location!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regency Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn & Suites

Address: 331 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32080 (Formerly the Wellesley Inn And Suites)
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Regency Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Inn And Suites
Regency Saint Augustine
Regency Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.