We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice outside dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Seafood

Harry's Seafood
46 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904-824-7765
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 484 restaurants in Saint Augustine
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille is known for Good Food and Good Times and All the Flavor of New Orleans. You will experience a "Taste of New Orleans" from the time you walk in the door until the time you leave. Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille has the finest authentic New Orleans-style seafood, grilled steaks, chicken, pasta and more.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Very nice outside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our party of six dined outdoors, even though the evening was a bit chilly. Outdoor heaters made it quite comfortable, though.

Live music was really outstanding and enlivened the atmosphere.

Service was prompt and very courteous and friendly. The server knew what he was doing and helped with menu selections for those of us who had not been there before. Two members of our party had been there many times and recommended the fried shrimp. Several ordered that and it was very tasty, with either cocktail or tartar sauce. It was very lightly breaded.

Although this is primarily a seafood restaurant, they had ample selections for those who aren't seafood fans.

They have a full bar and a good selection of beer and wine, as well.

Overall, this was a delightful experience at a very conveniently-located restaurant. I would recommend outdoor seating rather than indoor, if possible. Prices are quite reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    629
    345
    138
    68
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorable evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Walked in off the street on a balmy evening, seated after a five minute wait. Super nice, efficient waitress...great drinks that she kept coming, delicious food (shrimp and grits, jambalaya), great live music, and an evening we won't forget. Perfect, comfortable, charming courtyard dining. Go.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We dined at Harry's on our recent stay in St. Augustine and loved it. We stopped there for lunch on a rainy, drizzly day after visiting the Lighthouse. We were so happy to get a parking spot almost right in front of Harry's. It is so usually so hard to find a place to park. They have a very nice outside dining area but with the rain it wasn't an option for us. It was very crowded but we were seated immediately. We sat upstairs and there was a large party right next to us. We were worried that it would slow up our meal but it didn't. We had a great view of the bay from the window next to our table. My husband had the gumbo and I had the She crab soup to start. Both were delicious. It was a perfect day to start with soup. For his main meal my husband had jambalaya and I had the Harry's style chicken. It is boneless chicken breast with bacon, caramelized onions, mushrooms and jack and cheddar cheese. Both entrees were delicious. As my side I chose the corn "Maque Choux". It was a New Orleans style succotash with corn, okra, onions and bacon. I hesitated ordering it at first but was very happy I did. It was very good and I can't wait to go back to order it again. One of the best things they serve is their warm bread with garlic, chive seasoned butter. It is so good you can fill up on that before the you start your meal. We did not have room for dessert but there were a lot of yummy options. Our server was very nice and very attentive. The large party next to us did not slow up our meal at all. We had a great service, a great meal and a great view!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushnell, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our last day and what a perfect end to a great trip! We sat outside in the courtyard as we had our dog with us, and they were very accommodating. Yes, another Pet Friendly establishment! My Husband had the ultimate Po' Boy, and it lived up to its name! It was overstuffed with good size shrimp & crawfish & bacon! Which none were over cooked, excellent sandwich. I had the Southern Chicken sandwich which was also outstanding, I had the chicken grilled and not blacked. Our waiter Lance was just wonderful, making sure we & our dog had everything we needed. I just wished we could have saved room for dessert, as the ones we saw looked soooo good, oh well.... maybe next time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were in St. augustine for a 3 day visit and chose to eat at Harrys twice. The whole experience was quite good both times. The weather was perfect and we were able to eat in the large side court both times. We highly recommend eating here when in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Seafood also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Harry's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.