We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good service and good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reef

Reef
4100 Coastal Hwy, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-1419
904-824-8008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Reef is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 486 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Eclectic, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view, good service and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Everything was fine re food and service. The view is good (though it was dinnertime and we couldn't see anything anyway). The restaurant is really noisy though so it was difficult to hear my friends sitting across the table from me. I could only converse with the friend sitting next to me. What a shame.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    124
    60
    45
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I got to cross off my bucket list fried green tomatoes and I loved them. Salads crisp and cold. Grilled shrimp fresh and wonderfully marinated. Deck seating with ocean views if desired. A bit on the pricey side for limited menu, otherwise would return. Fabulous bar!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful musical trio in the lounge. I ordered a Caesar Salad with Mahi Mahi that was very tasteful. The view of the ocean added to a wonderful evening. A very nice menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Beach Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our daughter chose the beach in front of The Reef for her beach wedding in April, after which we held the reception on The Reef;s top floor. The food was excellent, the service better, and good times were had by all. Fair price, no request too big, no detail too small. Angie, the wedding planner, did fabulous job of coordination. Thanks to them for making our daughter's special day so beautiful. (I am sure they ordered the perfect weather too!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not Impressed Except for the View”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Ate lunch which consisted of a cup of seafood chowder which was mainly potato, but quite tasty, fried green tomatoes which were okay, and then followed by crab cakes which were had no distinguishing features and oven broiled grouper with french fires (rather dry fish). The best part of the visit was the view to the ocean which was inspirational. The service was reasonable, but a little "gushing".
The ultimate judgement is that next time, we'll give this place a miss.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.