We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, this is really a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catch 27

Catch 27
17 Hypolita St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
+1 904-217-8190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 444 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Catch 27 stands for fresh locally caught Florida seafood. We believe in cooking everything from scratch with local ingredients. Sea lovers and Land lovers will all find something they'll enjoy.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Wow, this is really a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our server, Vicki, was fantastic. We started with the crab cake appetizer which was delicious. Then had the special of the day which was Vermillion Snapper and was fantastic beyond description. Catch 27 is a superb restaurant! The chef is amazing with her culinary expertise. A must visit in St Augustine. Small restaurant so make sure you make a reservation. This was the best meal we have had in months, and we eat out 3 to 4 times a week. Thanks Vicki and Chef!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    103
    40
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

MANY TIMES I feel the owner get all of their friends and family to do reviews to make them move up the ranks..NOT in this case..The food is awesome..Its so good I am writing this review while I am still sitting in the restaurant. I had the Fish Tacos, AND the Blackened Fish...The Mrs had the shrimp tacos...UNREAL...all is so good...Caleb was our server & he was great as well...I see why its #1...super small place, not fancy, but the food is incredible...Enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, some service, no alcohol.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food, priced right. Blackened flounder was fresh and delicious, short rib was tender and tasty. No alcohol at all!! BYOB. Service seemed overwhelmed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were surprised and pleased to get a recommendation from the local hotel. We walked to the restaurant from the hotel, a short block or two. We walked in and were fortunately able to get seated. I would highly recommend calling for recommendations, as it is a small eating area. The menu is based on the local fresh markets that the owner gets in the morning. It is a smaller intimate staff. All the food our party had was delicious. The fresh fish was grouper and really good. Food is prepared with sauces that enhance the flavor and don't cover it up. The restaurant does not have a liquor license so you are encouraged to bring your own.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really, really, really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We started with the lemon tahini hummus with homemade croutons which was delicious. I got fish tacos and my wife got the shrimp tacos- very fresh and simple. Make sure to get both the garlic aioli and chipotle sauces- they are amazing! The place is small but doesn't feel crowded, and they play great music. Loved it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch 27 also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to Catch 27? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catch 27, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.