We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on the marina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfish Grill

Kingfish Grill
252 Yacht Club Dr, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-0492
904-824-2111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 444 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located right at the docks of Camachee Cove Marina, we offer spectacular waterfront views with both inside and outside dining. Enjoy the freshest seafood and casual cuisine served in a relaxed setting. We have something for everyone including the kids! The Harbor View offers stunning 2nd story views of the Intracoastal Waterway, Camachee Cove Yacht Harbor and the teeming tidal marshes of Saint Augustine.
WEST VIRGINIA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place on the marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hubbie had the cajun style shrimp over grits and loved it. I had the fried shrimp, which I would normally avoid, but waitress assured me it was lightly battered. Actually, it was more of a tempura batter and the shrimp were huge and very tender. She also brought me some of the horseradish remoulade, which I liked with the shrimp better than the cocktail sauce. Great place to eat and enjoy the yachts and sailboats come and go!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishOwner, Owner at Kingfish Grill, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We're glad that our staff was able to not only accommodate you with a homemade sauce you preferred, but to also reassure you on the quality and preparation of our shrimp. Our staff is extensively trained on our menu items, and we're very glad you were not unhappy with her reassurance! We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    134
    51
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Big thumbs down!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

PRO: Great outdoor view...

CON: dirty bathrooms...expensive food, especially the booze...rude, amateur & constantly revolving wait staff...badly managed...locals generally don't go here...therefore go at your risk...big thumbs down..!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishOwner, Owner at Kingfish Grill, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are so sorry that you felt your your experience at kingfish was so poor overall. The bathrooms are checked hourly by the staff and an outside professional cleaning crew has been in service with us for years. If there is ever any problem with anything, please don't hesitate to let a manager on duty know as they will take care of it immediately. Our staff from the months of March until October is seasonal, yes. But we have a core group of servers and bartenders that we have actually had for years. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Try it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I like to go to this restaurant! It has a very nice outside deck and a great view! Their Oysters Vilano is wonderful! It does take awhile for someone to show up outside to take your order, that being said we got a great waiter, he knew the menu and was very attentive! I only gave it 3 stars because the restaurant does give the impression of being a little chaotic, when we got there they were just clearing off the lunch dishes and it was 4 pm! However, give it a try and do order the Oysters Vilano!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishOwner, Owner at Kingfish Grill, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad that you found the staff to be knowledgeable and helpful, as we are constantly working on training. I'm sure on your next visit you will find our food to be just as delicious and our demeanor a little less chaotic! Thank you again for taking the time to write a kind and honest review, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best sushi I have EVER had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and our 6 month old son ate at Kingfish the day of our wedding. The service was okay, but the food was OUTSTANDING! We had alligator tail, 2 huge sushi rolls and a couple drinks. We will definitely be coming back on our next trip to St. Augustine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishOwner, Owner at Kingfish Grill, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are so glad that you loved our food enough to write us such a kind review! Congratulations on your wedding and we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OYTERS VILANO SYTLE A HIT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

stopped IN APRIL 13TH for some drinks and a late lunch. The bar area was nice. The prices are are a little high howeve comparable to the area. The oyster vilano style is excellent and was our favorite item. We tried the calamari and it was good however it was missing the cherry peppers and the sauce was just okay. The fried shrimp and fried gator tail were good but not over the top and the sushi was very fresh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishOwner, Owner at Kingfish Grill, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Kingfish Grill! The oysters vilano are certainly one of our most popular appetizers. All of our sauces are homemade fresh daily, so please don't hesitate to ask your server or bartender if you'd like to try something different with any of our dishes. We will be happy to accommodate you! Our sushi chefs are fantastic! We have different specials dailys, so be sure to check those out as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish Grill also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 
Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to Kingfish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.