We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Potro

El Potro
226 San Marco Ave, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-2724
(904) 819-0390
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 486 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Causal Mexican Dining
Dover, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We ate dinner there. Totally loved our food....had fried ice cream for dessert. Was also very good! Very happy with our experience there. The waitress was very sweet and patien with us. Totally loved this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, SC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Let's Roll The Dice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our plans for dinner were spoiled when Gaufres and Goods decided to go on vacation during the height of tourist season. We had a dolphin cruise scheduled at 7pm and needed to get back to our hotel to get ready. We were driving past this restaurant and my husband said "look, they have a parking lot, and I bet we can get food quickly here! Let's roll the dice!" I was extremely worried but relented to eat here. El Potro did not disappoint! First, we saw something on the table to text a certain number to see if you could win a free appetizer. We did and we won! We got two free dips off the menu. They were both good! Dinner was also good and standard authentic Mexican! For desert, we had fried ice cream and the waitress understood that we wanted extra honey! It was all good! In the end, the total bill was $28 for two! Great find in St. Augustine and a true diamond in the rough! Beware though, the whole place needs a good scrub! Outlets taped to the wall, ceiling tile soaked with spots and probably mold. It's not a fancy place, but a good value and standard authentic Mexican food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Family favorite-and definitely authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

El Potro is the real deal! Everywhere we travel, we look for good Mexican restaurants--and this is one of the best we've ever found, right in our neighborhood. We eat at El Potro often for lunch or dinner, take guests there, and go with colleagues from work. The sign in the window says “authentic Mexican” and last week we took close family friends who were visiting from the Midwest, and who are originally from Mexico. They were impressed and very pleased with the food, telling us that the sign is right—it’s definitely authentic, and it’s good. The dishes are well prepared and consistent every time we go. Everything we’ve ever ordered is “riquísimo” – super tasty! They are generous with the servings, including for the lunch menu items. The price is always excellent. The servers are pleasant and efficient. It’s a delightful place to eat, which is why so many locals keep it full at lunch and dinner.

We always start with the Jalapeño Cheese Dip. That and the chips are some of the best we’ve ever eaten.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Handy and just right after a day of travel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I like fajitas. They made a meal bigger than I could eat!
Service was friendly and efficient. Prices were appropriate $10 lunch - $10-15 for dinner,

This is an old school kinda Mexican restaurant. Dependable. Predictable.
Perfect when you don't wanna wander around a new town.

Glad I found it,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not Sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

1st Mexican restaurant we tried in America - very different to European offerings. Found the food to be unseasoned and bland (contrary to the belief that it would be highly spiced). Decor was not up to date, but this did not detract from the experience ans we found the best food offerings in dives.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Potro also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to El Potro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Potro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.