We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soup's the thing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A1A Ale Works

A1A Ale Works
1 King St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904 829 2977
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 485 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Trufant, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Soup's the thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fabulous beer cheese soup - best I've ever tasted!
Indoor and outdoor seating with views of Matanzas Bay.
Adjacent is a delightful wine tasting shop -Vino-Del-Grotto.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    509
    175
    58
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We've been making A1A a regular stop on our annual FLA vacation and it never disappoints. There must have been three juicy ripe red tomatoes in my pasta dish. We all had a variety of chicken dishes and each was fresh, tasty and juicy--not easy to do with chicken. We serve food for a living and don't know how they do it for the prices they charge. So reasonable. Homemade root beer. Great views of the city from the New Orleans-style balcony seating. We just hope you'll bring back the bonniacho's some day! This is a busy restaurant-bar for sophisticated teens and adults. I wouldn't bring little kids here as it bustles and the staff move at a quick pace. Great place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great location if staying in St Augustine historic district. Stop in for appetizers, a meal or just a great beer. Samples available which is great because their beer of the month sounded good, but after I sampled a few, I preferred another. Great soups, big portions - enough to share.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not as good as I hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

They have craft beers and I have tried many, but their beers lacked taste. Food was a little pricey, but I was disappointed when I ordered the jambalaya said it came with white rice, but they brought it out with orzo - don't like pasta with cajun or creole food. The kobe sliders were ok and my husband had the mango BBQ chicken which was okay. Won't be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food, service and view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We called in without reservations on a busy Friday evening. We chose to sit outside on the beautiful balcony upstairs overlooking the old town and bay.
We were given a pager and had a drink downstairs in the bar but only had to wait 5 minutes.
The view from our table was spectacular especially with a beautiful red sunset in the sky made this a special evening.
The good was good and served by a very helpful server. The beer was a credit to the brewery. I like real ale and this is good stuff!
All in all, a great experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A1A Ale Works also viewed

 

Been to A1A Ale Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A1A Ale Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.