We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Knight Deli

Black Knight Deli
1770 A1a S, Ste A, Saint Augustine, FL 32080-5563
904-460-0666
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 484 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I went to the Black Knight because the word on the street is that they have the best ethnic food in Flordia! I believe that is correct! The seating area is small and basically in the middle of a grocery store, but to me it is great. It reminds me so much of the Polish deli's I grew up around in Cleveland, Ohio. I bought food to take home with me that was a great "homemade" touch to our Easter dinner. The only thing I didn't know was that it is a cash only establishment. The items are a bit pricey, but probably because they are shipped in, but they were worth the price. I probably would have purchased more items, since I drove a little over an hour to get there, however, I did not have enough cash on me. I will shop here and have lunch again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great little deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

There is no atmosphere at this little Polish deli, which is part of its charm. You can buy all sorts of foreign groceries and some candy, but the main attraction is the deli part. I had a huge Cuban sandwich that was excellent. It came with very good potato salad and a pickle for $7 (it was the special). It's in a strip center so it's easy to miss but if you're looking for a quick bite it's well worth keeping an eye out for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

As others noted this is not a place that will catch your eye on the drive by..small deli/polish market at the end of an older strip center but decided to give it a try figuring it's been there a long time so they something must be right about it. Was not disappointed! Owners were very nice. Had an excellent pastrami and corned beef sandwich on rye with the meat stacked high. Prices were fair and all sandwiches served with pickle and chips (some places nickel and dime you). Looks like a really good selection of polish beers so that's on my "to do" list the next time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We discovered on the net and visited twice so far. Altough the location and the restaurant is not very attractive, the sandwiches and patatoe salad is out of this world. You can also try some of the best Polish/Russian deli. It is definetely worth going for a change of taste a

Tatiana & Jean

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I LOVED IT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was by far the best deli I have eaten at. The Rueban was excellent and my husbands clue sandwich was just as amazing. We happened to stumble upon this place while waiting to check into our hotel. I am so happy we did! You have got to go check this little local jewel out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Knight Deli also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to Black Knight Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Knight Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.