We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Required Stop!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Steen's Restaurant

O'Steen's Restaurant
205 Anastasia Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32080-4504
904-829-6974
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 444 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Takeout
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Required Stop!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Have been visiting St. Augustine for years and EVERY time O'Steens tops the MUST DO list. It is a simple Mom & Pop style operation with simple but TO DIE FOR food. Cash only. IF your taste lean toward fancy contour dishes prepared by top tier chefs this may not be your style of dining.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    147
    61
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Where the Locals Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very small restaurant that typically has a long wait. We dined early last week and were seated immediately, which was first in the many years we have eaten there. Best known for their fried shrimp and fried fish, but they do have limited broiled selections. Nothing is greasy. Good selections of sides, but no salads. Sides change daily and when they run out for the day, they are out. Squash casserole is wonderful. Hushpuppies come with the meals and are excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“So good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Very good seafood and homemade sides. Great service, long wait to be seated, but worth the wait! Cute little restaurant, will be returning!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Food Coma Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Believe the reviews. The fried shrimp was sooo good. The waitress was great but they all seemed really nice. The service was A+ and we didnt have to wait cause we opted for the counter service and it was excellent. It was very clean. They close on Sundays and Mondays I believe. We were there on a Saturday about 1:30 pm and there were about 8 people waiting outside. Waitress said its always busy. I guess best time to go is lunch so you don't have to wait too long. We're coming back next time we visit for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great local seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Great local seafood ,all very fresh and with large portions,very busy with locals,worth the wait.fried local shrimp is fresh and delicious

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Steen's Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to O'Steen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Steen's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.