We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fast service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Steen's Restaurant

O'Steen's Restaurant
205 Anastasia Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32080-4504
904-829-6974
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 508 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Takeout
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, fast service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Fantastic fried shrimp, delicious fried oysters, and unbelievably fast service. We couldn't believe they were already bringing our food. The pickled cucumbers were wonderful too. You need to try this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    146
    61
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MO
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have traveled to St. Augustine for the past 40 years and have NEVER missed going to O'Steen's. It is the best shrimp we have ever had in any of our travels. It is local shrimp, deveined on the premises, and fried in a light batter. Totally amazing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best shrimp ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the best fried shrimp ever! I went to O'Steen's in the early 80's and have been back a couple of times since. It is always delicious! Great sides. O'Steens was established in 1965 (according to their signage), so for 47 years that have served outstanding food!
Very small interior, so you may have to wait, but it is well worth it.
(TIP: Cash or check only--no credit cards).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is the first stop we make when we get to StAug!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Osteen's has the best fried shrimp I have ever eaten. I love fried shrimp, but since i have eaten Osteen's shrimp I rarely order it anywhere else. No where else can compare.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Top Contributor
494 reviews 494 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“GREAT shrimp, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Was 2 doors from our hotel. A big line always, and was one of the better places to eat. Just a plain jane restuarant but it's rated high because it's so good. HAVE the shrimp. MMMMMM

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Steen's Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to O'Steen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Steen's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.