We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crystal made the visit wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Restaurant

Columbia Restaurant
98 Saint George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904) 824-3341
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 444 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Family-owned and operated for over 100 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine and wine list. Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties. Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil. Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Torres, Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains. We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.
Winchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Crystal made the visit wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in for dinner a couple of days ago. We were told the wait would be about 30 minutes so we went to the bar to wait. While there we decided to order a drink and some tapas. Immediately we were greeted by Crystal who was terrific. She suggested the langosta (lobster) flatbread and we were so glad we took her advice. It was light yet flavorful. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Then Crystal brought us some piping hot bread. Wow. At that point we decided to stay right there and forget about dinner. We finished our night there with another tapas item, the stuffed pepper which was delicious. We had already had an appetizer elsewhere so these dishes really complemented the evening. Columbia was excellent and Crystal made the experience over the top.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,015
    541
    248
    147
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The Columbia is a favorite of mine and I always have a great experience there. The atmosphere is bar none and food is always good. If you are looking for a restaurant that is nice but not over the top expensive look no further.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

There are meals that come along in ones laid that are unforgettable and the dinner at The Columbia Restaurant is one of them. Our waiter was attentive and seemed to have a sixth sense about when we desired his assistance. The cocktails, specialized of the house were perfect, the monitor and the margarita were smooth and well mixed. We stated with Tapas at the suggestion of our server and were delighted with the brilliant blending of flavors of the seasonings. We had the ponchos mixta and the empanadas. Truly a delight and excellent way to start a meal. We ordered the paella with various meats, only one for the two of us to share,which was a good thing as the serving size was plenty. The paella is delicious. No disappointment at all except that we could not have eaten more from the nearly fourteen page menu. We will just have to go again and again. Finally the desserts, we chose the flan and the churos with three dipping sauces: a brilliant guava, yummy caramel and a divine chocolate. Absolutely perfect. No question about it this was a memorable meal. Although St. Augustine is a tourist destination we did not feel this restaurant represented anything but an authentic feel of Spanish and Cuban cuisine served in a respectful and beautiful environment. We were dressed up as others were, but many folks were in shorts and tee shirts and we were comfortable. The black bean soup that we did not have this time is spectacular and should not be missed. It was our anniversary and the server brought us a complimentary flan. Very nice and unexpected.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to get inside out of the heat for lunch and had trouble finding a veg-friendly menu. We chose the Columbia because of its bright, cool atmosphere, prompt service, and expansive menu. Our server, Michael, was pleasant and professional and our food arrived in about fifteen minutes. Everything was delicious and we left full and happy with the amount we paid.

We live near another Columbia location and laughed at the idea of driving hundreds of miles and eating at a restaurant that is also just two miles from our home. We wanted good service and good food, and we got it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We live near Sarasota so are very familiar with the Columbia Restaurant there. So while in St. Augustine, we decided to have lunch there. It was excellent! The crispy warm bread is to die for. I always get a 1905 salad and was not disappointed. I ordered 1/2 cuban sandwich and 1/2 salad. It was the first time for me to order a cuban sandwich there and it was very good. What could possibly be bad on their bread? We sat inside but in a very open sunny area that was very nice. We had 2 children with us and even they enjoyed their meals. Service was fine as always. You can always count on a good meal at the Columbia! Glad to see this is true for all the chan

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.