We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Restaurant

Columbia Restaurant
98 Saint George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904) 824-3341
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 484 restaurants in Saint Augustine
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Family-owned and operated for over 100 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine and wine list. Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties. Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil. Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Torres, Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains. We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you're from Florida, perhaps this place isn't that special. But for us, visitors from Colorado, we loved it. Pitcher of white sangria made right at the table, Cuban combo platters... yes, please. We loved it. Didn't appeal much to me as we walked in (too many people, looked too big to be good), but loved it once the food started coming. Server was terrific, also. Highly recommended as a must for tourists visiting the area from outside Florida.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    704
    393
    177
    125
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We always make a special trip for lunch with a large group during our annual visit to St. Augustine. They accept reservations and handle a large group well. My favorite (the only thing I've ordered from there in more than 18 years) is the half and half combo with the 1905 salad and cuban sandwich. Just be aware it is only served at lunch. Already looking forward to next year!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to experience in St. Augustine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant has been around since 1905 and as soon as you walk into the courtyard you can feel the history. Great atmosphere/decor, and you have to try the Sangria & paella - both are delish! We made reservations for July 5 for our family of 8 and had a wonderful time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We come here every year when we are in St. Augustine. I can't get away from the wonderful 1905 salad, the gazpacho, the Cuban sandwich, the black bean soup, the chicken and yellow rice. I need to try other things, but the afore mentioned are too good to not get on the times we come. It is a great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In a town like St. Augustine there are so many choices when it comes to dining. I try to go to St. Augustine each year. Somehow I've overlooked this gem of a restaurant. We went with some friends on their recommendation and we were not disappointed. The food was outstanding and the service great too. Not sure how busy it normally is but our reservation paid off for the 5th of July; folks were being told the wait was an hour and a half while we were checking in at 1pm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.