We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to experience in St. Augustine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Restaurant

Columbia Restaurant
98 Saint George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904) 824-3341
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 486 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Family-owned and operated for over 100 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine and wine list. Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties. Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil. Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Torres, Montecillo or Campillo. Relax in our courtyard or Mediterranean-style dining rooms, filled with hundreds of hand-painted tiles and Spanish-style fountains. We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to experience in St. Augustine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant has been around since 1905 and as soon as you walk into the courtyard you can feel the history. Great atmosphere/decor, and you have to try the Sangria & paella - both are delish! We made reservations for July 5 for our family of 8 and had a wonderful time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    455
    207
    132
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We come here every year when we are in St. Augustine. I can't get away from the wonderful 1905 salad, the gazpacho, the Cuban sandwich, the black bean soup, the chicken and yellow rice. I need to try other things, but the afore mentioned are too good to not get on the times we come. It is a great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In a town like St. Augustine there are so many choices when it comes to dining. I try to go to St. Augustine each year. Somehow I've overlooked this gem of a restaurant. We went with some friends on their recommendation and we were not disappointed. The food was outstanding and the service great too. Not sure how busy it normally is but our reservation paid off for the 5th of July; folks were being told the wait was an hour and a half while we were checking in at 1pm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“My Tastebuds Enjoyed It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped in for lunch with a friend. Bread and bean soup were amazing! My friend insisted on ordering the 1905 salad, but I still had the taste of the dressing in my mouth 2 days later--a bit heavy on the dressing, maybe? I would come back for the bread and decor!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always love this place when we visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We visit Columbia every year and have never been disappointed. If you have the chance try the stuffed pampano, it was the most delicious fish I have ever had. My only complaint would have to be that the appetizer portion was a little small for the price, other then that the service was excellent and the food quality is always fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.