We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O.C. White's Seafood & Spirits

O.C. White's Seafood & Spirits
118 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-4403
9048240808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 486 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Tapas, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Jensen Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We went in a group on a chilly evening. We sat outside, believing that we would have gas heaters to provide warmth. When we asked for one we were told that they couldn't get them to light. There had to be twenty sitting there and some in our party were shivering, but our requests were ignored. The food was inconsistent. The clam chowder, which they say won awards, tasted straight out of a can. The steak on the surf and turf, which was ordered medium rare, was well done. The fried shrimp were very good and the grits and blackened shrimp were excellent. Some in our party were satisfied with the experience, while others not happy at all. Overall, very inconsistent.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    252
    122
    64
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“By the bay, outdoor dining if you choose, delicious food and pet friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

after a long rainy day we were hoping to find a restaurant Patio that would open when the Sun came out. At O.C Whites the umbrellas arose, the seats were wiped off and the music was playing. The patio dining began filling up and we were seated in an amazingly comfortable chair with a wonderful view. The best part of all was that I was allowed to bring my Chorkie.(Chihuahua- Yorkie) Only leashed and friendly doggies are allowed.
I ordered the shrimp and grits, something I've never had, and it was spectacular. My boyfriend had the salmon cooked medium and it was a giant piece of fish over rice with broccoli and it was delectable. Our servers name was Tonia. She was very friendly. She sat down at our table told us a little bit more about the area. We had great service and enjoyed the live music out on the patio. There is a large beautiful trellised area covered with Confederate Jasmine.
An important thing to note is not to drive around for hours looking for parking O.C Whites has their own parking lot to the west of their restaurant. It's for their restaurant patrons only and there's a man out there who guards the lot. We wasted about an hour looking for parking.
The food was reasonably priced about $16 per entree. I've been here once before years ago for lunch and I was definitely glad I came back. I did mostly because they were pet friendly but I'll be going back again because of the great food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We ate on the outside balcony. Wonderful food, music, views. Service was very good. The building is situated in a great place.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great service, consistent food and healthy portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nice relaxing place for lunch or dinner with a water view...Inside seating as well as outdoor seating typically with entertainment....Full bar, steaks, seafood, salads, etc.....Something for everyone....Close to several B&B's and convenient when in downtown with their own parking lot next door....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Service was friendly and attentive. She quickly refilled drinks (we were thirsty!) and food came out in a very reasonable amount of time. We ordered a bruschetta appetizer, which was good, but we expected mozzarella with it. Perhaps we didn't read the menu, but it's what we're used to, so we wanted it! My 15-yr-old son had the chicken sandwich/fries and ate every last bit. I had a Caribbean salad with grilled shrimp added. Delicious, but HUGE! Hard to imagine getting full on a salad and still having a lot on the plate. The bill was issued and handled quickly. We were very satisfied! The dining room was cozy and warm, and had a relaxed feeling. The bar looked like a place I would go if I was staying in town. The location seems prime...right near the marina. If we ever stay in town, we would try again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O.C. White's Seafood & Spirits also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to O.C. White's Seafood & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O.C. White's Seafood & Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.