We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms but somewhat noisy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Villas at World Golf Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Villas at World Golf Village to your Saves list
Grande Villas at World Golf Village
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   100 Front Nine Drive, Saint Augustine, FL 32092   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms but somewhat noisy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed at the Grande Villas at WGV because we are Bluegreen owners. We'd never stayed here before and were impressed with the accommodations-- the suites are beautiful! The staff was helpful and friendly. The walls, however, were quite thin and it just so happened that there were a lot of travelers with young children staying around us. It didn't cut in on our sleep or anything, but it was kind of distracting in the morning when we wanted to sleep in a bit. I suppose one could ask for a room away from families if one wanted a quiet get-away... that's the only negative thing I can say-- and I'm sure it also depends on what time of the year one stays there. In any case, the room was beautifully done and we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    52
    23
    14
    12
See reviews for
88
71
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids MIchigan
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

We were there for spring break and had a great time.

Things to remember:
Take your own pool towels
If you want internet service in your room you need to pay for it
They have great BBQ grills, go to Kyle's and grill up some fresh fish

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome, georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

i had the priveledge to go to grande village golf resort in st augustine in march2010. this was a great trip. we have already made plans to return in june . we are taking my two grand boys age 10 and 9. the are both intrigued with forts and pirates. this will be a fabulous place for them to discover. anyone would enjoy all this city has to offer,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Fair enough this is a resort complex but first and foremost it is on a Golf Complex. There are better reorts for general holidays than this but for a mixture of golf and leisure this place is excellent.
The Grand Villas are a set of 5 storey apartment blocks around a pool on the World Golf Village about 20 mins from the old European settlement of Saint Augustine. The apartments are a good size as is the pool and the basic amenities on the resort. They are clean and tidy with the classic American timeshare design that is looking a little tired in terms of its design, not in appearance. Many face onto the golf course which makes for a nice aspect from your balcony (covered in bug nets!)

The welcome and service information is extremely good. From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful and friendly with plenty of information and support. Thye seemed to want to make your stay fun and had a nice dry sense of humour.

The resort itself is focused on golf and that is the reason we came. Two good golf courses surround the development with a large central lake with resort (shopping) centre adjacent. You got the feel this is still being developed as many of the retail units are still unoccupied and the amenities are limited.

Eating establishments are few and restricted to the clubhouses during the day a trad American diner (Caddieshack owned by Bill Murray) where huge portions and fat/sugar are the order of the day. For better food The Raddison hotel on the resort offers traditional mass market hotel dining. There are no specialist restaurants of note. You have to go to saint Augustine for those!

But the reason you come here is to paly golf and maybe visit the Golf Hall of Fame. The golf is good and the course challenges high and low handicaps. Not great for exercise as you have to hire a buggy, and they expect you to get round in 3.25 hours, which is not easy if you are playing off 2 tees! Green fees are on the expensive side for the quality of course but the staff are very very helpful and give excellent advice.

The Golf academy is very good and a week's tuition (Private) will cost abou $750. We got the Irish pro as he spoke our language...not too many words in a sentence! He (Richie) also gave brilliant advice on which local off-resort restaurants to visit in Saint Augustine. We were very satisfied with the standards we had achieved by the end of our stay

The Hall of Fame is for the golf nerd who likes to find out about the history the palyers and the sport in general. There is absolutely loads and loads of information (though the Bob Hope Exhibition did go on a bit!) and if you like the background to the game then do visit it.

Saint Augustine is a must to visit as it is a rare place in the USA with a long cultural history and some really amazing sites of historic interest. For those who like European food Colors is the restaurant to visit. But as with many things in Florida they eat between 5and 8pm after that its pot luck if the restaurant will accept an order!

All in all a great stay
All in all a very good trip

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wi
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We spent Christmas week there and really enjoyed ourselves. The villa was very nice and very clean. The pool area was terrific but the pool towels were pretty skimpy (bring your own if you have room). It was wonderful spending Christmas Eve poolside sitting in the sun at 70 degrees. Didn't play golf this time but on previous visits we have the course if terrific. We loved it.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

The room conditions were horrible, Our door wouldnt lock, The pool was cold, and when we ran the bath the water it was green..maybe thats why they call themselves Blue/Green. when I phoned the manager Vesko to complain I was put on hold for eternity. Im was traveling with a large group and most of my party had similiar issues. We wont be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville KY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

The resort is awesome. I really enjoyed our stay. The only downfall is the lack of wifi in the rooms. Ordinarily this wouldn't be a problem on a vacation. But it would have been nice to be able to log on and get some attraction info etc without having to go all the way to the lobby. Other than that it was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Villas at World Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Villas at World Golf Village

Address: 100 Front Nine Drive, Saint Augustine, FL 32092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Villas at World Golf Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country club living at Grande Villas at World Golf Village is unsurpassed. This year-round golfer's mecca offers two championship 18-hole courses designed by legendary golf pros Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer. And that's just for starters. There's plenty to do for non-golfers, as well. Practice your backhand on the tennis courts, shoot some hoop on the basketball court, perfect your spike at the volleyball net or pump some iron in the fitness center. After you've worked up a sweat, cool down with some leisurely laps in the spectacular heated pool. The showplace of Grande Villas, the pool is as refreshing to the eyes as it is to swimmers and sunbathers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Grande Villas at World Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Villas At World Golf Village Hotel Saint Augustine
Grande Villas World Golf Village
Grand Villas World Golf Village
Grande World Golf Village Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Villas at World Golf Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.