We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaybird's Restaurant

Jaybird's Restaurant
2600 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL
9044297153
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 483 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cicero, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very good homemade food; staff was VERY friendly, decent prices. Sad that we were too full to try the homemade desserts!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    55
    27
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Made My Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

After reading many reviews for Jaybird's Restaurant we decided to give it a try. We wanted to check out the restaurant before dining and were greeted by a cheerful young lady. She answered any questions regarding the menu, and explained there wasn't a Monday night weekly special Because they just opened for business on Mondays. We decided we would go back to our hotel (Jaybirds Inn) to freshen up. When we arrived again at Jaybirds Restaurant, we were greeted by the same young lady that introduced Aife as our server. Dinner was absolutely amazing, my Manhattan was exactly what I wanted! I would recommend this place to everyone time and time again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything was great - with lots of choices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Menu was extensive - hard to even choose! And everything was good. Had curried chicken salad, steak sandwich, chicken wrap, salads were also fresh and tasty, several soup choices, and dessert like Mom made it. Talked to several locals who eat there regularly - that's always a great sign! Recommend Jaybird's highly!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Went for a family dinner and the best thing about the meal were the chili cheese fries they were delicious which had us all hopeful for our meals! 3-fish-n-chips, shrimp and grits and the catch of the day,which was snapper. Fish n Chips frozen pre battered cod which translates to greasy soggy fish. Shrimp and grits were not bad the grits needed to be seasoned, creamier and thicker not watery, shrimp was tough. It also came with a Caesar salad that was drowning in dressing and un-edible. The catch of the day was good but not a $22 plate of food.

The waitress was very nice but it was only her.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were staying at the Great Jaybird's Hotel and decided to have dinner at the restaurant. Very disappointing, no organization. The bartender was rude and had very little patience. He was not busy and could have been a team player and helped the servers, but he stood there like he was in charge and could not bother. We were very disappointed, a wasted $50.00. Service was slow, this could have been excused but then the PrimeRib was cold, and my friends steak was Well done and should have been medium. We were there on March 2nd at 7:30 pm. I was very surprised to hear the many other customers that were told we are out of this. The one phrase that stays out in my mind the most was the bartender telling a couple " you can sit at the bar if you want, but that is the best we can do." Not my idea of hospitality. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. Please do not compare to the Hotel the Hotel was one of the best experience I have ever had

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaybird's Restaurant also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Jaybird's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaybird's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.