We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pet Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Camachee Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Camachee Harbor to your Saves list
Inn at Camachee Harbor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Yacht Club Drive, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% discount!
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very pet Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

I like to focus my reviews into four attributes. Safety, The Friendliness and efficiency of the Staff, Cleanliness, and Location.

1. Safety - I felt safe at the location. They use "real" keys there...not magnetic card keys that I'm used to. It is a little off the path, but not far from anything.

2. The Friendliness of the Staff - The staff was friendly to myself and my dogs. We brought two small dogs and they gave them treats and allowed them to come in and get breakfast with us in the morning, which was very nice. The initial booking was made fro the wrong day, but it was promptly fixed without any hassle. Billing was easy and accurate. The breakfast is minimal, but nice. One table is set up and if there are other people, you eat on the couch or chairs. They service juice, coffee, bagels, muffins, and danishes.

3. Cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel - The room was spotless. We work in resorts so we tear rooms apart and inspect them upon arrival. Very clean. KUDOS! Especially for a place that is so pet friendly!

4. Location - Just a five minute drive to downtown. I would not say it is walking distance at all, but perfect for us!

This hotel is very different from what we are used to. The front desk closes early, around 8pm. If you arrive late, they make arrangements for you to get your things. It was bizarre thinking nobody was at the desk at night, but it worked out fine. All in all, I'd stay there again. I felt it was friendly and charming. The rooms are HUGE.

  • Liked — Pet Friendly
  • Disliked — The desk hours
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    56
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
43
113
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

We have stayed at the Inn at Camachee Harbor several times for weekend getaways. We have consistently found it to be clean and well furnished. The front desk service is always efficient and friendly and they have always gone out of their way to provide us with the best rates and service. Get a harbor view and you can spend many relaxing hours out on the porch with a wonderful marina view. We have used the marina services with our boat and it's great to step out of your room onto your boat and cruise down the river. It is about 5 minutes to the historical district but away from the hustle bustle. If you're looking for a change from the chain motels/hotels, this is it!

  • Liked — Waterside rooms and spacious accomodations
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre,FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

As frequent visitors to St. Augustine we have tried many different lodgings--this one the best value by far! Very nicely kept condotel units with a superb restaurant next to the complex. Quiet, peaceful setting overlooking a yacht harbor. Will definately stay again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2006

Booked weekend stay online via reputable travel website for husband's birthday based on good reviews BUT upon arrival and after having to wait we were advised "the travel" company overbooked and should have contacted us--we were shuffled to a new "affiliated" hotel with, what we were told, "superior" upgrades. Hotel turned into a dumpy motel, further away from downtown, with INFERIOR downgrades! In fact, we had leave the disgusting room after 5 minutes due to burning in our nose, throat & eyes from the overwhelming use of bleach! We immediately called the travel company (from our cell out on the balcony) and were told "Inn at Camachee Harbor" did not contact them regarding the overbooking situation, contrary to what we were told. To make a long story short, our entire day was wasted attempting to resolve the issue, we drove 7 hours to St Augustine only to have to turn around and drive the 7 hours back home, fortunately with a refund thanks to the reputable travel company! Avoid the same situation happening to you and stay elsewhere - on a final note, sent both Inn at Camachee Harbor and Chamber of Commerce a complaint letter regarding this matter and never did receive a response back from either.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJANDJAKE, Property Manager at Inn at Camachee Harbor, responded to this review, November 1, 2006
We're sorry this guest experienced our sincere efforts to accommodate her as failure on the Inn's part. We are proud of our unique inn and our commitment to great service. The guest received her initial reservation through a third-party travel Web site before it could be confirmed with us. Unfortunately, the guestroom the third-party site booked for her was not available, as the inn was completely booked. Our desk host alerted the Web folks that the room was not available, and was assured by them that this guest would accept a substitute reservation at the Ocean Blue II hotel instead (which has many great reviews on TripAdvisor.com). We confirmed the Ocean Blue II reservation with the Web site agent, but the company would not give us the guest's phone number, so we were unable to contact her ourselves to tell her that other arrangements had been made on her behalf. A few days later, when the guest arrived at our Inn, we explained what had happened and described how we and her Web booking agent had reserved a room for her at the Ocean Blue II. We gave her directions to the Ocean Blue II as well as her new guestroom number. She arrived at Ocean Blue II mid-morning, when rooms were being cleaned, several hours before normal check-in time. The guest wished to check in immediately. The host at Ocean Blue II was unable to accommodate her in the room we had arranged, but had another freshly cleaned room that the guest was welcome to check in to. Later, the guest returned to the Ocean Blue II desk to report the odor of bleach in the guestroom was uncomfortable for her and she wanted to check out and go home (bleach and bleach products are used to sanitize bathrooms during cleaning, which was ongoing at Ocean Blue II at that hour). The desk released her from her reservation. Again, we apologize for the third-party complications that upset what is normally a simple, straightforward reservation process, especially when we handle it directly ourselves. We truly regret that our efforts, and those of our friends at Ocean Blue II, to set things right did not meet the guest's approval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

We atayed here after reading thew reviews on this site. Unfortunately it did not live up to expectations. We had a suite overlooking the harbour to accomodate 4 people.It was clean and the staff were friendly. We found our unit poorly equipped as we only had 2 cups and 2 glasses other than that we had plastic cutlery. No plates or bowls etc. Breakfast was via vouchers which you traded at a nearby shop and had the option of sitting outside and eating. The harbour is far enough outside St Augustine which meant having to take the car every time and find a parking space in town. St Augustine was special and I would return there but not at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Property Manager at Inn at Camachee Harbor, responded to this review, May 17, 2006
Thank you, TripAdvisor Member UK, for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Inn. We're glad that you found your harbor-view suite clean and the staff accommodating. We're eager to improve upon the features that disappointed you. The Inn is a "condotel," which means each hotel suite is privately owned while the property overall is managed by a professional staff. The owners and staff are passionate about the property and strive to maintain high standards of service and comfort. Individual owners are free to decorate and furnish their suites to upgrade the standard amenities often found in a typical hotel. Many have already upgraded mattresses, furniture, kitchenware, TVs, etc. Others are still working on it. That is why some suites may have full sets of dishes and cutlery in the kitchenette while others may be equipped with standard plasticware. In the meantime, our staff can help with requests for extra coffee cups or cutlery. Please ask! The hotel is fortunate to be located in a lovely marina setting with two delightful restaurants as neighbors. Our breakfast vouchers are our way to share this with guests at no extra cost. Many of our guests enjoy the complimentary breakfast cafe style, while others take the morning meal back to their suites to enjoy the views from their balconies while they eat. This same lovely setting, less than a 10 minute drive from downtown St. Augustine, is why our owners, staff and guests enjoy the Inn at Camachee Harbor. It provides a peaceful, waterfront retreat - an alternative to the downtown tourist crowds and congestion, and it's only 5 minutes from the beach. (By the way, the St. Augustine Sightseeing Train provides its tourgoers a free daytime shuttle from the hotel to the downtown St. Augustine area.)
Sincerely,
Management of the Inn at Camachee Harbor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2006

This is a small and quiet hotel with individually decorated rooms and suites. New and brighter bed- spreads would have completed the updated paint and decor. Mostly tasteful! The people at the desk weren't particularly friendly so our greeting could have been better. Overall we were pleased with our choice and our balcony view of the water and boats. St. Augustine is a lovely place to visit!!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2006

Great value. Perfect for a quiet getaway. Not upscale, but clean and quiet. Off the beaten track at a marina. Excellent restaurant, Kingfish, next door.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Camachee Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Camachee Harbor

Address: 201 Yacht Club Drive, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine
#25 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Camachee Harbor 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Camachee Harbor offers spectacular sunset and sunrise views from all 19 of our room's private balconies. Come and relax while enjoying Intracoastal, marina or garden views from our spacious and beautifully decorated units. We are conveniently located one mile north of historic downtown and half a mile from Florida's beautiful beaches. Come visit us to experience North Florida's laid back lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Camachee Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Camachee Harbor Hotel Saint Augustine
Hotel At Camachee Harbor
At Camachee Harbor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Camachee Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.