We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep going to the next driveway” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel St Augustine - State Rd.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Motel St Augustine - State Rd. to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel St Augustine - State Rd.
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2550 State Rd 16, I-95 Exit 95 at State Rd. 16 on West Side, Saint Augustine, FL 32092   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Cornwall, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Keep going to the next driveway”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Avoid this motel by any means. The room we were assigned stank of old cat urine, and looked awful. We were given another room, and it didn't stink at lest. Bed was clean though - checked for critters... TV didn't offer many channels. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been given a real good clean in a while, we avoided the shower, and kept our shoes on at all times. The breakfast is not very good, as it offers a very poor selection, and no seating for comfort. Just keep going to the next hotel next door, or turn around and take a left off of I-95!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    22
    27
    39
See reviews for
40
40
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We did not even spend the night there. We checked out 2 hours after check-in. Rooms were big but very noise. You could hear every car on the I95. Also a lot of dust and we found bedbugs. Frontdesk personnel very friendly and offered us a new room but also this room noise and dusty.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

A lot of these Super 8 motels (and others associated with name brand chains or groups of companies) are using these well known names but not maintaining their standards.
When you see these discount books found at rest stops you need to be careful. Although they do provide a savings many of these motels have not kept up their facilities.
This Super 8 was a discount but the hallways were dirty and in disrepair . The rooms were clean (no bedbugs!!!) but worn and the grout in the floors and tub walls has been well aged. The TV reception was not working even when getting almost electrocuted trying to fiddle with the loose wire in the wall.
Have a look at the rooms before you give them your credit card but I would pass on this if you were travelling with kids. Go into Saint Augustine to Ponce de Leon Boulevard to get a nicer motel at a bit of a higher price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

The overall ambiance of the hotel is that it is an older, very low budget hotel that's got some wear and tear but is very clean. It is not for the average one-a-year vacation traveler. This place will appeal to people who like to travel a lot (and therefore don't want to spend a lot on a room), like to be out of their room doing things and do not expect to lay around in luxury surroundings all day. This room is perfect for people who just want a pit stop to sleep and shower between adventures and prefer to spend their money doing things and going places rather than on laying around a room watching the same cable TV they have at home.

The blankets have holes in them but are spotlessly clean. There are mismatched tiles in the shower but there's not a speck of mildew. Your room might be missing a hairdryer but a friendly, soft spoken staff member will bring you one quickly when you request it.

Dogs are welcome but there is a one time $10 pet fee -- whether you are there for a day or a week.

We stayed here for 4 days and liked it just fine. The beds weren't as comofortable as at home but there were a couple of nice fields behind the hotel where we could walk and play with our Golden Retriever.

If you walk past the lobby building, through the parking lot of the hotel next door, and over a bit of grass . . . you will find yourself at the very end of one of the outlet malls in just a couple of minutes walk from your room. Nice if you are into shopping. There is a gas station/convenience store within walking distance - safely away from the highway. I would recommend going there for sodas and snacks -- a can of soda in the vending machine was $1.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

The location is great, plenty of food and shopping near by. The room was clean, beds where worn, but still sleep able. Sheets smelt clean. There is no refrigerator but small coffee maker, safe, and hair drier. There is a small TV and clock radio. Good room A/C. Hallway is not air-conditioned and is hot in the summer. Lobby is clean. Staff is fair at best. Not to concerned with your welfare or stay. This Super 8 is an old hotel that is maintained. If you’re looking for a real price deal and don't mind an older hotel, this is it... It's the cheapest in St Augustine. However, if you’re looking for relaxation and pampering, do stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We travelled to St Augustine Florida for a week of fun in the sun. We booked a 'name your own price' at priceline. We were put off by the reviews of this particular hotel when we discovered we had been booked here, told we couldn't change reservations and decided to just go with the flow. I packed my own cleaning supplies just in case. Were we ever surprised!

The hotel is an older hotel. It isn't perfect. It's just off the interstate and you can hear some noise from the interstate. The room we had, 117, was next to the hotel laundry which probably knocked a lot of sound from the interstate off of the room. We could hear the dryers running, but it wasn't a bad thing. The hotel has an onsite guest laundry upstairs which was a plus for us since we stayed a week. We didn't bring a computer with us so we had no use for WI FI. No microwave or fridge in the rooms, but there was a coffee pot and and a hair dryer, we don't drink coffeee or use hair dryers so I have no idea if they worked or not....don't really care either. We brought a large cooler so we just kept sandwich supplies on hand. Our cell phones worked just fine there. Breakfast was a bit on the skimpy side, no big since we're not really breakfast fans. The hotel water was off for a few hours one day due to a leak upstairs which wasn't a big deal for us we just enjoyed the pool while they worked on getting the water probelm fixed. The tv service was out for a few hours after an electrical storm, annoying yes, but not their fault.

The pool was clean and well maintained.

The room we had was HUGE. The carpet was clean. The beds were comfortable even though the pillows were flat, we learned years ago to bring our own pillows wherever we stay. The rooms were cleaned daily, sheets and bed covers changed daily. There were fresh towels and soap/shampoo provided daily. The wall behind the tub faucet was damaged, probably by a careless hotel guest, we reported it the day we left and were assured it would be repaired. The sliding glass doors were welded shut so no one could break in from the outside. Heavy light blocking curtains were over the sliding doors. There were operational security cameras in all the halls. While talking to the front desk clerk I noted that the cameras were on and could be utilized from the front desk. The vending and ice machines were all clean and in working order.

A lizard got into our room one night and provided much entertainment while our boys tried to catch it to put it back out. I didn't complain because I live in the mountains and I know critters get in uninvited no matter what. Once caught it was shown to the grassy area by the pool.

The hotel is walking distance to several outlet shopping malls, but I don't recommend you walk as the streets are extremely busy. That's not the hotel's fault, it's just a fact of hotel life being next to to the interstate.

I really don't have anything bad to say about the hotel. The only thing that could be improved is the access to the halls from outside. Entrances should probably be keyed entry so that only hotel guests with a room key can enter, other than that I we got reservations there for $30 a night through priceline so when you stay at a 'cheap hotel' you get what you pay for. We would probably stay there again if it were closer to St Augustine, but next time we're going to stay at the hotels that are either on or across from the beaches.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

This hotel was so NASTY!!! After walking into the hall where the elevator was located we knew we had made a BIG mistake. It was hotter in this hotel than outside. It was 85 degrees in our room. The sliding door to the balcony was locked for safety purposes. There was toilet paper in the toilet from where someone previous didn't flush the toilet. The beds were nasty and old. The fire alarm battery was dead, it was constantly beeping!!!! Needless to say we weren't on this property more than 15 minutes. The staff was rude telling us she couldn't refund the money (after paying with cash). She said that she would show us a better room. I wouldn't advise my worst enemy to stay here...This place should be SHUT DOWN!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel St Augustine - State Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel St Augustine - State Rd.

Address: 2550 State Rd 16, I-95 Exit 95 at State Rd. 16 on West Side, Saint Augustine, FL 32092
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel St Augustine - State Rd. 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Motel St Augustine - State Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel St Augustine - State Rd. Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Super Eight
Saint Augustine Super 8
Super 8 Saint Augustine
Super Eight Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel St Augustine - State Rd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.